Overclocking a 6600gt with a ZALMAN VF700-ALCU VGA COOLER - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default Overclocking a 6600gt with a ZALMAN VF700-ALCU VGA COOLER

Just want to get some feedback on the Zalman vf700 vga cooler, it's the only one i can find around town that will work with a 6600gt. Anyone have one? And is it good?
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 05:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I think atleast one person does have that, although I can't actually remember who that was as of right now

maybe it was xtremesystems I was thinking lol

Either way I believe they used it on a leadtek 6600GT and got some rather nice OC's
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

If it's anything like the CPU coolers then it will be great. I've got me one of those. 21C idle and no noise
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

yea zalman are great
imation is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 07:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Zalman are good, but it really depends on what version you get. For the VF700, well you probably could not find a better heatsink then that. That VF700 is top of the line man. Im not positive that will fit with my video card. But thats the heatsink i want.

If you have good case cooling. Then you'll be able to OC alot with the presents of the VF700 yo. But great pick man, you'll be pleased with it.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 03:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default Mother of MERCY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So with your advice and a little background check i decided to pick up the zalman vf700 (as well as another 120mm case fan for the front of my case). I was very nervous about taking out my beloved XFX 6600gt (stop laughing Nubuis!) and putting my new zalman cooler on. Why? you ask, because i've never done this type of thing before. Anyways i never thought in a million years that i would have to squeeze nipples so hard . OK enough with my dirty mind,lol. It took me about 2 hours to put the thing on (I was being retardedly slow and and carefull), so i toss my card back in only to look at the temp and almost cry, 80c........oh no!. So the problem was the heatsink was not fully in contact with the vga chip (those ram heatsink stickers were completely blocking it, does anyone actually use those?) I fixed the problem tossed it back in again and thankfully my temp was down from the normal 45c to a nice 33c . Not bad in my books! Anyways just 2 questions for you guys...1 is a good question and the other one you will laugh at me.
1- Why do you get artifacts? is it heat related or cpu related?
2- that front case fan i bought, should it be blowing out or in?
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 04:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

1. Heat can be a cause of it, but generally when it's heat related that's when lines start forming and your card is pretty much dying lol. You can still get artifacts even if your card never went above 20C at full load, this is because like a CPU, it can't do the instructions properly when it's pushed too far beyond it's limits and of course in most cases a volt mod will fix this of course, because again like a CPU....more voltage = higher OC's. MSI will be coming out with a 6600GT infact where they will be including software to bump up the GPU voltage and memory voltage, very awesome idea if you ask me, I wish all cards had that instead of resorting to a voltage mod.

2. I guess it's your call for the fan. Traditionally it's intake, but if you have your fans all setup different, it wouldn't hurt as exhaust either, so that way the air isn't going over your hot HD's and putting that into the system. Instead of normal front as intake and rear as exhaust it might actually be more beneficial to have the rear as intake and front as exhaust so the CPU gets the freshest air first.
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Best air cooling setup:
front blowing in
side blowing in
back blowing out
top blowing out
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
Best air cooling setup:
front blowing in
side blowing in
back blowing out
top blowing out
exactly what I have, but what about bottom
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
exactly what I have, but what about bottom
forgot about that

bottom I have as intake

I drilled a 120mm hole from my basement up through my floor and a 120mm hole in the bottom of the case so I have a nice 120mm fan blowing cool air up into the case from the basement
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.