OverClocked GPU issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2006, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 110
Unhappy OverClocked GPU issue

I followed one of the members links to overclocked.com and read about how to overclock my 6800. I used the program RiviaTuner to do so and I sucessfully unlocked a shader but when I want to unlock another pixel pipeline it messes up my screen. Rows of pixel lines a out of place everywhere and when I hit refresh everything go back to normal untill I pull another window up and then it has those little messed up up lines everywhere. It would be much appreciated if anyone could help out
__________________

__________________
#teamdismay
xxdeadweightxx is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 05:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

You know what, I did a very similar thing to my 6800 plus I overclocked it by about 10%, ran it for a couple of months and now its Dead.

RIP.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 05:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

turn off the pipeline and it should be fine.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 05:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ridlyn
turn off the pipeline and it should be fine.
I second
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 05:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

yeah turn it off, I had artifacts when I unlocked the extra pipleline. unfortunately just unlocking the pipeline and running some benchmarks seemed to do some permanent damage in my case and my GPU died a slow death.

Edit: not that i'm bitter or anything
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.