OCing help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2007, 10:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default OCing help

Hey guys so far I am at 1400fsb and a 7x multiplyer without votlage increase. I can't seem to up the multiplyer. Is my CPU limited at 7? and what program should I use to check if it is stable. And when should I up the vcore? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: OCing help

Hi, i have the same CPU. Up the Vcore when its unstable and I used prime 95 on both cores to test mine. But there are many more testing programs than that.
__________________

__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: OCing help

Pretty sure that the processor you have does not have an unlocked multi I could be wrong though.

So wait for someone else to chim in.

Now I could recit the entire advice of overclocking word for word.
But I won't, because I lazy!
So I will just link you to ths VERY good overclocking Guide.
Core2Duo Overclocking Guide v1.1

In the end its not that hard. The basics, the extreme basics Are:

Up CPU frequency > test for stability > if stable, then more CPU frequency increases, if not stable adjust/modify Any combination or Vcore, RAM Voltage, FSB voltage, MCH voltage and memory timmings.

Continue in a loop.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: OCing help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Pretty sure that the processor you have does not have an unlocked multi I could be wrong though.

Mines locked so im sure his is also. Although I can step down to 6.
BTW im at 2.94ghz and its my first time overclocking.It is so simple. But i cant seem to get much further than this do to heat issues.
__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: OCing help

Aftermarket cooling?
Room temp?
Program used to moniter?
Ste is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 12:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: OCing help

Yeah the multiplier on the E6320 is locked. You can only choose from 6x or 7x. And if you are having heat issues, then get aftermarket cooling. Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro is a good aftermarket hsf.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 01:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: OCing help

I am idling at roughly 20-22c. My room is downsatairs and my case is bomb. But I am using PC alert 4 to monitor CPU my ntune monitor won't show me my CPU temp its wierd.
__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 01:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: OCing help

brrrr..thats cold. nice job.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 01:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: OCing help

Thanks I have a Tuniq Tower I am about to order from Petras Tech shop. COuldn't justify the thermalright.
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GTX OC'ing help Pinscher New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-26-2007 05:15 AM
Computer completely froze (OC'ing) Nechen Overclocking and Modding 0 04-14-2007 07:54 PM
question related to RAM and CPU OCing. krazieaznboi Overclocking and Modding 7 04-11-2007 02:56 AM
Vista / GTS OC'ing? BennyV04988 Overclocking and Modding 1 03-30-2007 11:52 AM
e6400 OCing problems Higach Overclocking and Modding 7 03-27-2007 07:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.