OC capabilities!!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 06:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Abit, Asus, MSI, are all brands to consider plus a few more. Personally i like Abit, but i heard MSI is right there too. Decide what you want and what you can afford and it should point out one of them over the other
I agree that ABit and MSI have good boards. Especially the MSI Neo2-Platinum, I was fairly impressed with it and it's rather extensive BIOS menu. I don't like ASUS though BLEH!

EDIT: BTW you're going to need awful good cooling if you want to OC those chips. I don't know how good those OC. There's one core in particular, the Winchester core I think it is that OC's a little better than the others, but I'm not sure which CPU's that core is made for. Other than that nothing overclocks better than an XP-Mobile barton core
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 02:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

yah, ive got my xp-m to 2.7 ghz, but ive stepped it back to 2.6 ghz, runs in the 40's all the time... and i just got ina case of 10 12cm fans... so im looking to hit 2.8 ghz on this 83 dollar processor, so if you are looking for something to really overclock go for one of these... you just can't beat em.
__________________

__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 10:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default

There on socket 754 or A right? IF so im not looking for something like that , I would like to upgrade in the feature aswell, but if not 83$ proc that OC to 2.6 on good cooling in down

Keep me informed
OCgod* is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 10:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Say i went with a AMD Mobile Athlon XP 2500+, 266 FSB, 512K Cache. For 92$ at newegg OEM. What board would go good with this and good for OC?
OCgod* is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 10:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

I have the MSI Mobo now. AWESOME!!! i love it, to bad i dont have the cpu yet to really get to turn it on. But it looks cool!!! The XP-M CPUS are on Socket A. I mean i still have this 3200+ and it runs Doom3 and HL2 fine for me. If you get the XP-M then it would be a hell of alot cheaper for 1 and you could OC past FX speeds!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 10:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default

But thos boards and chips are all discountiued though right?
OCgod* is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 10:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Not discontinued if alot of ppl are still buying them. Ppl just think they are old cause verybody is looking into 64-bit amd's and the fact that they are still on socket A. They are still good though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Not discontinued if alot of ppl are still buying them. Ppl just think they are old cause verybody is looking into 64-bit amd's and the fact that they are still on socket A. They are still good though.
lol...they are still available online yes. but they are discontinued, they are no longer made and when the last one is sold online...they are gone forever. socket A is still upgradable in many other ways, and still pretty fast...but i has seen it's glory days.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

but still faster than what most of the owrld has today. We only think they are old cause most everybody on this forum(cept the major) has either a 3200+ or above. and all the newbies are trying to upgrade to just that.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:09 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Hey I fit into the below 3200+ category . Not for long though. 10 days and counting.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.