Noob at OCing a Q8200 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2009, 09:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Question Noob at OCing a Q8200

Allright so I recently got a Q8200 CPU with ASUS P5Q Pro Motherboard and tonight I decided to try and overclock it a little bit.

I read some things on how to OC so I decided to go into my bios and mess with the settings!! Ohh yeah a lot of fun!

Anyways I set my FSB to 433 (Orig 333) on the overclock setting and my multiplier is 7 ohh yeah I also changed the CPU voltage to 1.3. Right now I am running at CPU Clock 3031.1 MHz (original: 2333 MHz, overclock: 30%) and running a torture test with prime95 and so far my temp is at 36 with full load and it's not going up. Does this mean my OC is safe? Can I OC it anymore? Should I even mess with this as a newb?

Anyways my Everest info.

Code:
CPU Properties:
      CPU Type                                          QuadCore Intel Wolfdale
      CPU Alias                                         Wolfdale / Penryn / Yorkfield / Harpertown
      Engineering Sample                                No
      CPUID CPU Name                                    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz
      CPUID Revision                                    00010677h

    CPU Speed:
      CPU Clock                                         3031.1 MHz  (original: 2333 MHz, overclock: 30%)
      CPU Multiplier                                    7.0x
      CPU FSB                                           433.0 MHz  (original: 333 MHz, overclock: 30%)

    CPU Cache:
      L1 Code Cache                                     32 KB per core
      L1 Data Cache                                     32 KB per core
      L2 Cache                                          2x 2 MB  (On-Die, ASC, Full-Speed)

    Motherboard Properties:
      Motherboard ID                                    64-1306-000001-00101111-082008-Eaglelake$A1012001_BIOS DATE: 08/20/08 13:38:55 VER: 08.00.14
      Motherboard Name                                  Unknown

    BIOS Properties:
      System BIOS Date                                  08/20/08
      Video BIOS Date                                   02/21/08
      DMI BIOS Version                                  1306
Code:
Sensor Properties:
      Sensor Type                                       Winbond W83627DHG  (ISA 290h)
      GPU Sensor Type                                   Driver  (NV-DRV)
      Chassis Intrusion Detected                        No

    Temperatures:
      Motherboard                                       41 C  (106 F)
      CPU                                               34 C  (93 F)
      Aux                                               15 C  (59 F)
      GPU                                               46 C  (115 F)
      Seagate ST3500320AS                               29 C  (84 F)
      Maxtor 6L300R0                                    33 C  (91 F)
      Maxtor 6Y080L0                                    29 C  (84 F)
      Seagate ST3320620AS                               34 C  (93 F)

    Cooling Fans:
      CPU                                               1854 RPM
      System                                            1318 RPM
      Chassis                                           2637 RPM

    Voltage Values:
      CPU Core                                          1.29 V
      Aux                                               3.49 V
      +3.3 V                                            3.26 V
      +5 V                                              5.43 V
      +12 V                                             12.65 V
      +5 V Standby                                      5.12 V






Thank You
__________________

__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 09:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Noob at OCing a Q8200

that's a good job man.

If you'll notice although everest is giving you 34 C notice your core temps in Core Temp are all around 60 C on the 4 cores, so you have a little more headroom,

all-in-all a good OC though

very nice
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 09:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: Noob at OCing a Q8200

Yeah I didn't want to go with the stock cooler so I got the Freezer 7 Pro
__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 09:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Noob at OCing a Q8200

Good choice, that thing does a nice job of sucking the heat from those quad cores, but like I said pay attention the core temps, the probe the CPU temp reading out 34 C by but a mobo rpobe and there much cooler,

60 C at full laod is pretty good though, You could probably pust that up to 3.3GHz and still be safe.
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 09:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: Noob at OCing a Q8200

Yeah my prime95 just failed, apparently my memory failed soo I have to look into that. I didn't touch the memory settings.
__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 09:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Noob at OCing a Q8200

Well you were putting too much stress on the FSB:RAm ratio, just lower that some and your memory won't be working so hard.

What happens is your Ram automaticcaly adjusts itself to that overclock and therefore overclcok's itself, with that high FSB you'll need to lower the ratio so that your ram is clocking tiself so high,

I'm sure someone will clearly what I'm attempting to say
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: Noob at OCing a Q8200

I went back into my bios, my ration between FSB:DRAM is now 1:1

Is that what I was suppose to do?
__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Noob at OCing a Q8200

That should help. What ram do you have?
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: Noob at OCing a Q8200

4 gb of DDR2 PC8500 1066MHz 5-5-5-15 i belive.

Here are my current OC Bios settings

BTW If you got better settings for me that would work much better please post it! Because maybe i'm doing something wrong since this is my 1st OC.
I used to have the voltage at 1.3 but then changed it back to Auto.


__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 02:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Noob at OCing a Q8200

I would manually set the voltage like you did before, auto is usually to high or to low. The max voltage Intel recommends for your cpu is 1.365v. While you can go over that I wouldn't run it higher than that for extended periods of time.

Assuming your temps are still good you should be to oc farther since you still have some voltage headroom and your ram won't be holding you back.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo bios locked from OC'ing? IF06 System Upgrades 3 12-29-2008 09:59 AM
OK, ocing my q6600 to 3.6 & ram ocing. (no, not a how do i oc thread) Luke Overclocking and Modding 10 08-29-2008 02:44 PM
ocing q660 and other. Luke Overclocking and Modding 16 03-03-2008 04:58 PM
OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 45 08-25-2007 05:23 AM
Vista Ocing nerdygeek Overclocking and Modding 4 08-05-2007 07:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.