Nic - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2004, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default Dual NIC's

I don't know if this is the right forum but here.

I'm running Halo dediated server on my other comp and when people join it gets slow reaaaaaaaaaaaal fast and has a ping over 120. If I popped in another NIC will it be any faster? or Will it do nothing because it is hooked up to the same modem and router?
__________________

__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 01:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

nothing, it's all on the same connection unless your nic has issues... you can't really run servers on slow cable modem connections..
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 03:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

try limiting the max users to a smaller number
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 09:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

I have 4 computers connected to the router. Would it help any if I connected some of the computers through another one to access the internet?
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 10:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

nope, they're all accessing the same line. You could get like.. a dsl and cable connection, then run your rigs from the dsl and run the servers from cable (cable runs better for hosting, it manages the bandwidth better)
Demalii is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 11:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Alright thanks. I don't think my parents will lt me get two ISP's so I guess I'll just host games with lesser amounts of players.
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 01:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

yea.. on a game like raven shield.. i know i could host a 8 player room and get good pings.. avg about 5kb/sec per person leaving another 5 for excess and whatnot.. but other servers with more players never worked out =p hehe, good luck though
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.