need some help with oc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2008, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default need some help with oc

hey guys

i've been trying to get the rig in my sig over the 3.0 mark but every time i set the htz higher to get a 3.2 oc the thing just dose not boot

this is whats set to get the 3.0 oc (sorry about cut and copy on these)




i'm stuck there and need help getting past this
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 01:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Park City, Kansas
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to cdw1981
Default Re: need some help with oc

First of all, I myself, hate vista.
But on to your question. have you tried to adjust your Dram frequency? I noticed it still says "auto". You might wanna see if you can lower its setting to still be within your ram's range. And also, have you tried tweaking your O.S. settings from your desktop? Try and see if you can get the "extra" glitz and glammor to go away. Those extras actually bog the performance. Getting rid of those will really pick the speed and performance up noticably. These are my suggestions that I have followed myself.
Honostly though, you, or anyone else for that fact, will find it almost impossible to raise the mark above 3.0 in windows vista of any kind
__________________

cdw1981 is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 03:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: need some help with oc

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdw1981 View Post
First of all, I myself, hate vista.
But on to your question. have you tried to adjust your Dram frequency? I noticed it still says "auto". You might wanna see if you can lower its setting to still be within your ram's range. And also, have you tried tweaking your O.S. settings from your desktop? Try and see if you can get the "extra" glitz and glammor to go away. Those extras actually bog the performance. Getting rid of those will really pick the speed and performance up noticably. These are my suggestions that I have followed myself.
Honostly though, you, or anyone else for that fact, will find it almost impossible to raise the mark above 3.0 in windows vista of any kind
wtf are you talking about man? i run server 2008 and have a q9450 running at 3.5ghz easy-as-pie. there are LOTS of people here that run over 3.0ghz with vista.
are you talking about the "windows experience rating" or whatever it is?
my wife's laptop with an amd x2 gets a 4 or 5 or something. i can assure you that the rig in solidsteve's sig will get 5.9...
so what does that mean "...impossible to raise the mark to 3.0..."?
plus, if you hate vista, get server 2008. its free and more importantly, you get top choose EVERYTHING that you want to turn on.

steve there are lots of ds3 owners here that can help you with your problem. i cant really...im not too familiar with it. wait a bit and someone who knows what they are talking about will post.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 04:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: need some help with oc

^ thank you i see that post befor and thourght it wasent worth posting after

my system rateing is 5.6 as vista tells me :freak: as if i care i just want to play games

i'll take the advice of the dram i'll have a mess about with them but there a black area for me so any pointers there would be very helpfull
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: need some help with oc

do you have 4x1gb sticks or 2x2gb? Its alittle harder w/ 4 sticks. You might need more MCHv and FSBv. If you have 4 sticks. Try taking two out and ocing the cpu and see if it boots and primes. I know people w/ 4 sticks and get around the 3.4 mark.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: need some help with oc

i have 4 sticks of 1gb and i want to try and stick with them i dont want to start taking things out ect quite yet

i would love to have it at 3.2 or even 3.4 that would more then suit it fine
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: need some help with oc

Try more MCH and FSBv and your going to need more CPUv
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 01:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: need some help with oc

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
Try more MCH and FSBv and your going to need more CPUv

ok i'll give that a try now and see if i can hit 3.1 or 3.2 with a boot and i'll get back in a bit
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 11:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: need some help with oc

ok i put the FSB and MCH volts to +0.3 and i put the cpu to 1.3500 volts

it then posted loaded the splash screen went to a loading screen and sat there for 20mins

i reset the pc and put everything back to where it was after that
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 11:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: need some help with oc

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdw1981 View Post
First of all, I myself, hate vista.
But on to your question. have you tried to adjust your Dram frequency? I noticed it still says "auto". You might wanna see if you can lower its setting to still be within your ram's range. And also, have you tried tweaking your O.S. settings from your desktop? Try and see if you can get the "extra" glitz and glammor to go away. Those extras actually bog the performance. Getting rid of those will really pick the speed and performance up noticably. These are my suggestions that I have followed myself.
Honostly though, you, or anyone else for that fact, will find it almost impossible to raise the mark above 3.0 in windows vista of any kind
I hate Vista as well. No practical improvement, or maybe it allows more time for you to read books before something is fully loaded.
------------
Vietnam Travel Vietnam Tours
__________________

nightflower is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.