Knowing CPU temp ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2005, 09:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to CompGeek06
Default Knowing CPU temp ?

Is there a program to see what my CPU temputure is ? I have the HDD one but I was just wondering if there was one for the CPU.


Thanks
__________________

CompGeek06 is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 10:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Do you have a sensor?
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 12:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It will tell you in the BIOS what the CPU temperatre is. You can get programs like motherboard monitor 5 to tell you in windows.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

try the 1 in my sig
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

everest home edition is also very nice, there should be a program that comes with your mobo to monitor temps in windows
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 05:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I rather have a 3rd Party Temperator Sensor.

Thermaltake Hardcano 13 or a
Silverstone Eudemon SST-FP52 Temperature and Fan Controller .

If you just want some one thing for TEMP and FAN Speed and not too expensive, the Silverstone Eudemon SST-FP52 is not too bad.

I just don't trust software or BIOS setting. I have seen them be wrong too many times.

Also, I can monitor it with out having to turn on the monitor.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 05:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

I use SpeedFan when benchmarking to make sure my temps don't get too high. if you don't need it for continuous readouts and are just curious what the temp is, head to your BIOS cuz the temp is usually in there.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 05:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to CompGeek06
Default

Thanks, I downloaded MBM 5. Its a little more than i wanted but its good. I think im going to do what Harper said. Thanks again.


EDIT:
I got Everest and i think im gonna stick with that.
CompGeek06 is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 05:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CompGeek06
Thanks, I downloaded MBM 5. Its a little more than i wanted but its good. I think im going to do what Harper said. Thanks again.
If you want some thing that is really customisable on temperators sencing, then go the hardcano. The big down fall for this item is that they are overpriced for what they do. RRP about AU$160.
However, if you like set your own alarm temps, (especially if you are cover clocking) then it's worthwhile.
It also monitors your fans speeds RPMs. And you can custom what speeds that you want your fans spinning at.

However if you just want some thing that is easy to install and set up, Silverstone Eudemon SST-FP52 Temperature and Fan Controller is really good. I only paid about AU$45 for my one. It monitors 3 fan and temp. sensors. And you can not adjust your alarm temp as it's hard coded into the unit.
There is not as much customisability on this unit, but some people will not find that as a priority.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.