Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2009, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question...

My previous cooler was the Artic Cooler. The fan plugged directly into a 4pin that was right next to the cpu area (directly on mobo). This new cooler has a fan controller and a 3pin connector. This is like the other fans in my case. They connect to a 2pin connector that extends off my psu. They all seem to work.

My question is since i have to plug this 3pin into one of those 2pin connectors will the fan controller work? There is red/black/yellow wires and the 3rd pin which if I remember right is the yellow one which has no connector since there is only 2pins. Make since?

Last the way I installed it the fan is pointing up, this seems ok to me. Is this ok? Pic below (might look bad, from cell phone. Thanks

I haven't plugged the computer back into power. I was on lunch break and ran out of time.

__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question...

Flip it around so the fans face each other for better airflow. You'll be blowing hot air into your case or onto your video card there instead of blowing it out the back.

EDIT: I think those are filters/air vents on the top? I guess the way you have it would be ok if it was blowing air up, but I still think it would be better blowing back and out of the case.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question...

Flip it so the fan is pushing out the back of the case? If so I think that might be a problem with room. I could be wrong but after I was done it looked like if I did that it wouldn't fit.

edit: I get confused with directions of these fans. Isn't the way it's installed now the fan is blowing thru the metal fins and out the top?
Chad711 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question...

and no, plug the 3-pin into the 4-pin. the 4th pin that you don't have is the PWM regulator I believe which just allows the fan to increase/decrease RPM's as needed.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question...

ok, glad I asked before hand.

I edited last post if you can answer that. Thanks!
Chad711 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question...

Taking another look at it, I believe the way it's installed now, it's blowing air downwards. If it really won't fit so the fan blows air out the back of the case, flip it around so it blows up. The air usually comes out the side with the brand logo sticker on it. :P
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
Taking another look at it, I believe the way it's installed now, it's blowing air downwards. If it really won't fit so the fan blows air out the back of the case, flip it around so it blows up. The air usually comes out the side with the brand logo sticker on it. :P
No, the always blows towards the side with the brackets. Trust me. I have about 50 fans in a bin beside me and they all blow that way. The way he has it, air will blow towards the top of the case.

I also know, cause I just installed my Core Contact today.

Which, by the way, was a major PITA. I had to remove my top case fan, remove my video card, and move my RAM from 1-3 to 2-4. Then I had to remove my DVD drive to wiggle the case fan back into place. Annnndd then, I had to ziptie the fan on the heatsink so that it stayed up a little, I didn't want the fan and the metal clips touching my RAM.

But, it cools really well, so it was worth it.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question...

Ah, well. I was trying to remember since I normally have a million fans next to me too. But I'm at work, so I can't remember. My bad.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
No, the always blows towards the side with the brackets. Trust me. I have about 50 fans in a bin beside me and they all blow that way. The way he has it, air will blow towards the top of the case.

I also know, cause I just installed my Core Contact today.

Which, by the way, was a major PITA. I had to remove my top case fan, remove my video card, and move my RAM from 1-3 to 2-4. Then I had to remove my DVD drive to wiggle the case fan back into place. Annnndd then, I had to ziptie the fan on the heatsink so that it stayed up a little, I didn't want the fan and the metal clips touching my RAM.

But, it cools really well, so it was worth it.
Ok thanks! Then I might leave it this way then.

Sorry your install was a PITA. I was actually pretty lucky and I must say this install is much more easier then the arctic freezer I had before. The brackets are SOO much more stable then the arctic. The assembly was a piece of cake and it fit very well. I love how the bracket installed separate from the heat sink and such.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Installing Contact Core Freezer. Have question...

On a side note, I read PITA as PETA. I was like "You had to call an animal abuse hotline to install your heatsink? What?"

__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA and Core 2 Duo Question spinard New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-03-2007 12:58 PM
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro fan question carnageX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-20-2007 11:32 PM
Question about installing A temp display CH2IS New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-30-2007 11:38 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM
Question for installing XP.. Rune20 Microsoft Windows and Software 11 05-03-2007 03:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.