I JUST PROVED IM A n00b!!HELP - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2005, 02:34 PM   #31 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

the numbers really mean absolutley nothing
the cpu in that combo i linked you is clocked at 2 ghz which aint too shabby for an amd
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 02:42 PM   #32 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sbcirclepants
uhhh i only know what intel numbers mean....i know nothing about amd, i always thoht that 3000 meant 3.0 gig...plz interpret these speeds to me
An AMD 3000 mean it is the equavilant to a pent 4 3.0 even though it may be a 2gig processor.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 02:52 PM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
An AMD 3000 mean it is the equavilant to a pent 4 3.0 even though it may be a 2gig processor.
so, 3000 is eqievelent to 3.0, a 2000 = 2.0, a 2500=2.5 gig, a 3200=3.2gig right?
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 02:52 PM   #34 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

problem is when they start getting into the 4800+ manchester
in all honesty I sincerely doubt it runs equal to a dual 4.8 ghz p-4
so its sorta up to personal interpretation
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 03:44 PM   #35 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sbcirclepants
so, 3000 is eqievelent to 3.0, a 2000 = 2.0, a 2500=2.5 gig, a 3200=3.2gig right?
right. actually the amd are a little faster
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:09 PM   #36 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

This Biostar motherboard and CPU combo delivers the power and functionality for building a great system! It features the VIA KM266 Pro/VT8235 chipset and supports 200/266/333 MHz FSBs. Memory is expandable up to 2 GB of DDR RAM and video is controlled by the S3 UniChrome Pro 2D/3D Graphics chipset. A C-Media CMI9761A 6-Channel AC'97 CODEC and VIA VT6103 Ethernet are included as well. This Biostar motherboard also includes an AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ CPU (2.0 GHz Barton core), heat sink, and fan. Build your system with this motherboard + CPU combo today

soooo...thats basically a 2.6 gig???
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 08:00 PM   #37 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sbcirclepants
This Biostar motherboard and CPU combo delivers the power and functionality for building a great system! It features the VIA KM266 Pro/VT8235 chipset and supports 200/266/333 MHz FSBs. Memory is expandable up to 2 GB of DDR RAM and video is controlled by the S3 UniChrome Pro 2D/3D Graphics chipset. A C-Media CMI9761A 6-Channel AC'97 CODEC and VIA VT6103 Ethernet are included as well. This Biostar motherboard also includes an AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ CPU (2.0 GHz Barton core), heat sink, and fan. Build your system with this motherboard + CPU combo today

soooo...thats basically a 2.6 gig???
yes.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 08:10 PM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

ehhh...id rather have somthing closer to 3.0 or 3000...go to froogle-that is google shopping incase u didnt no, and search "cpu motherboard combo" and see if u can find me some quality good deals on atleast 2800...i saw some 2800 combos for 125.usdollars
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 08:17 PM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

http://froogle.google.com/froogle?q=...&sa=N&start=20

that page and the next one has 3000 amd's.....

http://froogle.google.com/froogle?q=...&sa=N&start=20

heres a combo...will it fit a midtower??

http://www.xl-pc.com/scr/xtcat.dll/C...or?item=MK-056

thats a great price for a 3200 dont u all agree, also its in my budjet..
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 08:33 PM   #40 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

yes but in case you didnt notice the combo i linked was an xp mobile which use less voltage and run much cooler

which in turn allows them to be overclocked much further
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.