How to cool a Prescott??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 01:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

aww i just bought a freezer 7 pro for 22.99 wit no shipping. but i got a question. right now i have pentium4 506 lga 775 2.66 stock oc'd to 3.2 wit the stock fsb frequency (i think) at 133, so when i change it to 162 it goes to 3.2 ghz. but when i put it to 170 my cpu core speed drops to like 2.19ghz or something. can some one help me with this problem? could it be that the vcore voltage is not high enough? and one more question (sorry for all the questions) how do i change the voltage in the bios its seems to be locked or something but i never heard of voltages of being locked on a motherboard.
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 08:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I have one of these on my Sempron 2800+ (overclocked) with a 120mm fan on it.
it fits basically every socket out now

I've never seen it go above 32ºC. it normally sits around 25ºC and sometimes goes as low as 19ºC
though it is winter here ATM

I'd suggest getting one, but don't get it without a fan aswell (it doesn't come with one)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 12:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Holy crap. And here I am with a Celeron and a Zalman 7000 and can't get my temps below 40 on idle.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

Airflow in the case. Make sure you got plenty of good airflow. I had the same problem after OC'ing a prescott and needed a variable 120mm and 80mm intakes and 3 80mm exhausts.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:52 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah I have pretty good airflow, my cables are pretty tidy
with my PC running, I often have to put on a jumper because the air going through it is so cold
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:10 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

? i am sure i posted here, but the post is not here...


anyway yea, i just almost burnt myself on my heatsink. no temp reads (dell) but i think i would rather not know how hot it is...
joshd is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
? i am sure i posted here, but the post is not here...
well if you did post here, I know I didn't delete it


Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
anyway yea, i just almost burnt myself on my heatsink. no temp reads (dell) but i think i would rather not know how hot it is...
I had an old TNT2 that I was overclocking once. I got that so hot that, even with my modded cooling, was hot enough to burn my finger.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse

I had an old TNT2 that I was overclocking once. I got that so hot that, even with my modded cooling, was hot enough to burn my finger.
my friends voodoo3 did the same to him, and almost to me when i was running it for a while. the thing is, it wasnt even gaming! just simple, 2d windows.

it wasn't OCed either.

i dont really mind the heatsink getting hot. it just means it is doing its job i suppose.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:20 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

on my TNT2, I managed to increase my 3dmark01 score from the high 900's to over 1600
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:22 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

wow! lol, that is almost double!
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.