How accurate is Everest home edition? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2006, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default How accurate is Everest home edition?

downloaded it the other day so i could see all my temps and just wondered how accurate it was? or if it has the tendency to over/under read?
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

in my experience everest is horrible for monitoring temps. always seemed to link temps with the wrong sensors and such.

What kind of motherboard do you have?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 10:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

In 90% of peoples experiences it's great! You have to remember though that it gets the temps that it displays from your hardware, so if you have a faulty thermometer in your computer it;s obviously going to display the wrong temp.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 10:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I have had great experiences with it on all the machines I work with.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

awful just awful, but mainly cause all my parts are 6 years old.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gurusan
in my experience everest is horrible for monitoring temps. always seemed to link temps with the wrong sensors and such.

What kind of motherboard do you have?
Msi

Its an almost brand new system, so i dont think anything would be faulty, must be getting pretty accurate temps then?

Is there anything else i can get thats better/more accurate?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 07:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

My MSI works perfectly with Everest. Just download it and run it...no harm done.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 08:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

yeah i know theres no harm in it, im saying is there anything better and more accurate as the feedback hasnt been very positive from a few people
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 09:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Everest is as accurate as you're bios and thermometer.



End of story,

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 09:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
Everest is as accurate as you're bios and thermometer.



End of story,

-Jo.
Thank you very much, that does actually make sense aswell
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.