Horrible FPS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2010, 04:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Default Horrible FPS?

Well i finally built a new computer thanks to everyone on here who helped me pick out what was best for my needs , im now experiencing bad fps in l4d2 , ut3 and bf perhaps i have something set wrong with my setup.. or maybe i was just expecting more out of this computer. here are my cpuz screens

http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/613/speedsh.jpg
http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/1098/memoryg.jpg
http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/3120/gfxs.jpg
http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2370/cpumx.jpg
http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/7004/cachec.jpg
http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/5955/cachez.jpg

im running most current ati drivers 10.1 on win 7 64bit

when i built this all i didnt tweak any bios settings at all so as far as i know everything is stock settings
__________________

Morissette23 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 06:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Horrible FPS?

how many fps are you getting in games?

what are your temps like?
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-27-2010, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default Re: Horrible FPS?

Post ur exact PC specifications (especialy video card) and the settings u r trying to run games with (low-high, amount of FSAA and resolutions)
smartech is offline  
Old 02-27-2010, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Horrible FPS?

cliff notes from the screen shots:
HD 5870
6gb ram at 1080 ocz gold
i7 920 stock, speedstep on.
cant see board.
Edit:
found build GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R



Latest chipset and gpu drivers installed?

and what everyone else wanted about settings and actual fps.

You system should be killing it.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-27-2010, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Horrible FPS?

You have 1600MHz memory but it's only set to 1080MHz. If we knew what mobo you have we could tell you what to change to get it up to speed. It also appears that you have Speedstep and the CxE Functions enabled. If your system is running cool you can disable them for a more responsive system.

You should read thru this overclocking guide a time or 2, even if you don't overclock it may help explain a few things to help you tweak your system

i7 Overclocking Guide
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-27-2010, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Horrible FPS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
You have 1600MHz memory but it's only set to 1080MHz. If we knew what mobo you have we could tell you what to change to get it up to speed. It also appears that you have Speedstep and the CxE Functions enabled. If your system is running cool you can disable them for a more responsive system.

You should read thru this overclocking guide a time or 2, even if you don't overclock it may help explain a few things to help you tweak your system

i7 Overclocking Guide
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R is the board , how do i fix the memory ??

MY cpu temp is 39c and seems to always stick around that temp , would that be low enough to disable speestep and cxe? im only running with the stock heatsink
Morissette23 is offline  
Old 02-27-2010, 05:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Horrible FPS?

Start the PC, when you hear the post beep hit the key to access the system bios.

Go to the MB Intelligent Tweaker (M.I.T.)

If you are NOT Overclocking, and your memory supports it, you should see a setting labeled

Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.)

Enable this setting and it should configure your memory automatically.

If your memory does not support X.M.S. then you'll need to manually set everything.

Go to the System Memory Multiplier (I've downloaded your mobo manual but it's not showing me all the options)
Select one of the following options - 1600 or 12 or 2:12

DRAM Timing Selectable - I need to know the make and model number of your ram to determine these settings. (a Newegg.com link?)

DRAM Voltage - This should probably be set to 1.65v but I can't be positive until I know exactly what ram you have

CPU/VTT Voltage - This should always be within .5v of the DRAM Voltage. Your Default setting is 1.15v which will be just barely within specifications at a DRAM Voltage of 1.65v. You should set this to 1.2v or 1.25v for system stability.

Once you get your memory speed set correctly we need to see what your various system temperature look like. Download and run Hardware Monitor and post a screenshot so we can see what your looking like at an idle.
HW Monitor
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-27-2010, 07:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Horrible FPS?

Okay the DRAM Voltage needs to be at 1.65 volts

Set the CPU/VTT to 1.2v
or 1.25v if you have any stability issues.

Go to the DRAM Timing Selectable and change it from Auto to Manual

Make the following changes to all 3 Channels (A, B and C)

Set the CAS Latency Time to 8
Set the tRCD to 8
Set the tRP to 8
Set the tRAS to 24
Set the Command Rate(CMD) to 1
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 11:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Horrible FPS?

http://img710.imageshack.us/img710/8291/tempbefore.jpg

this is before i changed anything with the settings , changing the settings now i will post an updated temp
__________________

Morissette23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i think i know why i get lower fps in Crysis/Crysis Warhead after upgrading my CPU Wildside PC Gaming 39 05-12-2009 08:26 PM
Who here is getting over 30 fps avg on Warhead? Chad711 PC Gaming 9 02-04-2009 02:54 PM
Best free (and open-source) FPS games Osiris PC Gaming 0 11-24-2008 06:56 PM
Counter Strike 1.6 And Day Of Defeat FPS Issues T0t PC Gaming 27 08-26-2008 03:45 PM
~~~~8800GT vs 8800GTS 640mb 3dmark06 Scores~! gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 24 10-27-2007 04:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.