Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400) - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2009, 08:08 PM   #41 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Your ram timings are 2-2-2-12?!?!?

And your FSB is 1777mhz?!?!
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:11 PM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

sry, meant 4-4-4-12 for the ram, and yea the FSB is 1777, it makes it 4ghz. lol am i saying this right? thanks for reminding me lol, last time I ran my memory auto it killed the sticks (life time crucial warranty FTW!) and i just added 2 more gigs. hop on aim if u can bro
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:46 PM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

That's more than 4ghz...

1777mhz is quad pumped, so divide by 4.. that's your normal FSB.. 444.25 x 10, so that = 4442.5 not 4.0ghz

EDIT: wait that's right.. e8400 has 9x Multiplier, its still .25 shy of 4.0ghz
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:47 PM   #44 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

well whatever i set it to made it 3.99ghz lol, as u can see in the screen shot a page back. And what were you asking about the ram vern?
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:48 PM   #45 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Take a picture of the Ballistix with those heat spreaders off..

See if those black things are on both sides.. if not.. you blame your RAM
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 10:42 AM   #46 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Take a picture of the Ballistix with those heat spreaders off..

See if those black things are on both sides.. if not.. you blame your RAM
Except taking the heat spreaders off will void the warranty on them.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:50 PM   #47 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

braz, your still running an e8400!?

anyways... I used to run my e2200 at 70C load! That thing was a beast and lived a long life before I sold it.

good luck getting 4 ghz
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 05:15 PM   #48 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

at 4ghz right now. about to test it for stability. ram is 5-5-5-15 2 clocks 2.09v, NB 1.4v, HT 1.4v, SB 1.5v, vcore 1.34v. Here goes OCCT stress testing! oh, got 11s on 1m super pi
*UPDATE* LOOKS LIKE IM STABLE!!! WOOT! ok, also notice how OCCT shows the cpu temp 10c cooler? dunno which to believe lol.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 08:36 PM   #49 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
braz, your still running an e8400!?

anyways... I used to run my e2200 at 70C load! That thing was a beast and lived a long life before I sold it.

good luck getting 4 ghz
I'm still running an e6600...
aspire is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 08:37 PM   #50 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

E6600 is like a step below the E5200?
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
e8400 @ 5.0ghz andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 28 11-09-2008 11:19 AM
worth getting a e8500 or just e8400 stalin90 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-12-2008 07:21 AM
p35-DS3R and e8400? Peter.Cort New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-15-2008 12:42 AM
e8400 vs e4300 andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 23 03-28-2008 01:56 AM
new pc is up! temp problems e8400 braz New Systems | Building and Buying 9 02-22-2008 02:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.