Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2009, 01:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Arrow Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

I was wondering if I could get some help and guidance in overclocking my E8400 to 4ghz. I am water cooled, but I HATE watercooling, temps aren't any better than a HSF (yes ive tried adjusting stuff, nothing works lol). I really just need help with the vcore, NB voltage, SB Voltage, HT voltage, and what to set my FSB at. What is the equation to find the ghz from the fsb x9 again? Thanks guys, i really dont know where to start.
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 01:18 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Well first post a CPU-Z and RealTemp screen shot so we can see where you're at. Watercooling keeps my E8500 at 21C idle and 30C load so it should do something for you.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 02:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Overclocking Guide - Page 1 - introduction
AMD Overclocking Guide - EXTREME Overclocking Forums
AMD Overclocking Guide :: TweakTown

Read.

To get your frequency, it is FSB * multiplier. So, for example, 200*9 (x9 multiplier) = 1800MHz, or, 1.8GHz.

EDIT: I think I misread your post. I see you're just looking for fine tuning, eh?

Post your current settings (voltages, fsb, etc).
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 07:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

sry it took long for the response, I was at school. Here you go
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 08:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Quote:
Originally Posted by braz View Post
I was wondering if I could get some help and guidance in overclocking my E8400 to 4ghz. I am water cooled, but I HATE watercooling, temps aren't any better than a HSF (yes ive tried adjusting stuff, nothing works lol).
Your doing something wrong then.

Recently it's been quick chilly around here. Yesterday morning my cpu was sitting at 18C...

Care to post pics of your case and loop as well as idle and load temps?
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 08:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

ok, here are all the pics. There are NO kinks whatsoever, rad isnt actually resting on the desk flat, it is elevated somewhat, pump speed is just under max.
Load temp, real temp doesnt move at all.





__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 08:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

am i seeing ide?

guess not, that your 24pin? never seen it white before.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 08:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

no IDE here lol, PSU cables are silver.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 08:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

What thermal paste are you using?

And have you tried remounting?

Turn the pump speed on max.

try resting the rad on it's side so the fans can push air through it more easily, or hang it off the back of your case.

How long has the loop been running?

Quote:
Originally Posted by braz View Post
no IDE here lol, PSU cables are silver.
Ultra power supply.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 01-06-2009, 08:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

yes, actually just put a new E8400 in there, so it is re-mounted. I am using MX-2 paste (Petra's tech shop recommended) and just put a pea sized drop on the cpu. Loop has been running for maybe 8 months now? distilled water has already been changed/flushed once (with additive from PTS). Just tried the Rad on its side and pump all the way up, no difference. Isn't this ridiculous aspire? This is why I HATE water cooling lol.
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
e8400 @ 5.0ghz andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 28 11-09-2008 11:19 AM
worth getting a e8500 or just e8400 stalin90 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-12-2008 07:21 AM
p35-DS3R and e8400? Peter.Cort New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-15-2008 12:42 AM
e8400 vs e4300 andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 23 03-28-2008 01:56 AM
new pc is up! temp problems e8400 braz New Systems | Building and Buying 9 02-22-2008 02:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.