HELP! Building Gaming PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2004, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Question HELP! Building Gaming PC

I am building a PC. I have run into one problem.

I have connected everything to the motherboard. When I go to power up to install windows, I run into one problem.

There are two power cables for the motherboard. One is your standard P1 cable (long white cable), and the smaller 12V P1 cable (looks identical but is much smaller).

When I power up the PC, WITH the smaller power cable connected, the power shuts off five seconds after (the computer does not boot), but I do have power to the CD Rom drives.

When I power up the PC, WITHOUT the smaller power cable connected, the power stays on, but I have no power to the CD Rom drives.

PLEASE help me out!!! Thanx
__________________

KornNut is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

What mobo do you have? Seems like a messed up mobo, and it is running into an error. If not, you may need to check your PSU. Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Default

Thanks for any help that you can give me! I have a very basic motherboard made by intel. I don't plan on doing any overclocking, so I think that I should be all set for now:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...121-197&depa=1

I also have an ATI 9800 radeon pro, P4 3.0 GHz with HT, and a 350 watt power supply.

do you think that it could be the CPU?
KornNut is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

No, I dont think so...it must be either the PSU (power supply) or the mobo. If you have another PSU, try and use that one to see if it works. Some PSUs get old or malfunction and do not put out the rated power...this usually happens to older machinces. My mom's pc is having this problem. It is a 200watt and all the sudden it shutsdown. It is because it didnt have the power to run the mobo, the hard drive, and the CDROM. So after boot up, when the CDROM is used, shutdown. No it is bad enough that it wont run even with the mobo and hard drive plugged in. So, if you can get a different PSU and try it, it may be the original PSU. IF the problem persists, it may be the mobo that is malfunctioning, which meas sending it back if it is still under warranty. And if it is not that, then even I am puzzled. Let me know what you find.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 03:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Default Re: HELP! Building Gaming PC

Quote:
Originally posted by KornNut
I am building a PC. I have run into one problem.
Do you think that the PSU is DOA or is it more likely that the mobo is DOA?
KornNut is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

wut is ur psu rated 4?
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 04:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Default

350 Watt Power supply to support:

3.0 GHz P4 w/ Hyper Threading
ATI 9800 Pro video card
7.1 Creative Sound Blaster
DVD+/-RW drive
DVD Rom Drive
160 GB SATA Hard Drive
1 Gig DDR Ram
4 fans
KornNut is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 05:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

To tell you the truth, I think the PSU....never heard of that kinda porblem w/the mobo. But, really could be either or. Let me know.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 12:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Default

Like I said, I have a 350 watt power supply. I have tried to boot the PC with only the basics (motherboard, onboard video/audio, RAM, and keyboard), yet the computer still will not boot. The PSU IS giving power - with everything hooked up, I have all fans working, power to the ROMs, etc. So... I believe that it is either the CPU or the mobo.
KornNut is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 08:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Try Reseating the CPU

From messing with old ATX computers I know that the PSU can still be delivering power to the motherboard and the computer not boot up because the CPU is not seated right

Could be different with the newer ATX but its worth a try
__________________

Havoc222 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.