Giant fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2006, 01:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default Giant fan

okay i can get a giant fan from a car radiator very easily, what i was wondering is if i put one of these in my pc (at the side), other than dust, would ther be any problems doing this.
i have heard that using to bigger fans causes static buldup or something, dont really know if this is true...

if i did use one of theese fans then id prolly run it quite slow and would have 3 other 120mm fans on a 360mm radiator for watercooling +the 2 80mm fans in my psu...
__________________

El_Roberto is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 08:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
fzk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

just get the Tt armor case with the 250mm sidefan
__________________

__________________
http://www.fiziks.org/images/sig.gif
AMD 4400+ X2 @ 2.475GHz
ASUS a8n Premium
eVGA 7900GS @ 635/821
Corsair XMS 2GB
2x200GB WD/Maxtor
Thermaltake Armor w/ 25cm sidefan
Zalman CPU/GPU cooling
fzk is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 02:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

fans for car radiators are usually driven by a belt that is a take off from the drive train... are you mounting the engine on the back of it or...
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default

actualy im wanting to build a case myself.

and cwiz if your car uses a belt to drive the fan it must be very old because they stopped doing that years ago, my dad just threw out 3 radiator fans from cars that had electric motors
__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 02:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

cool cool, i wasnt hatin' on u... i just got a funny picture in my head and had to share. idk if a normal psu will be able to support the current required by a car fan... when fans get that big the motor power required grows at a squared rate (rotational inertia) the motor on the fan probably has a voltage/current rating... what is it?
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 02:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default

yeah your right i prolly will have to run it off of a seperate psu it is 12v but im unshure of the current but itd be dam high, prolly about 1-2amps max though, so a cheap psu should do it,

something like this here

and it could also power the pump and other fans/lights
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 04:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Autmotive electrical cooling fan will draw on order of 10 amps. They have huge wind resistance at speed, AND are required to move ALOT of air. High pitch, large blades equals HUGE resistance. Probably also outputs a ton of HEAT and emi itself from their electric motor lol, I wouldnt use one of those. Sure you could get it to work, BUT be far better off with something actually sized appropriately.

Simply drilling a side panel hole for the cpu/heatsink fan itself will drop your temps signifigantly, as outside case air is substantially cooler than recirculating preheated inside case air over cpu hs fans....
krazefinn is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 06:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

i would do that, but make a sepreate encloseure about 20 feet away and use like 3-5 dryer ducts to transfer the air, use a heavy duty 110 to 12v adapter from the wall with a dimmer switch on the 12v side to control fan speed. (tho, i would much rather using this 24in box fan that i use anyways to cool the pc down when i get the beep o death(the O **** ITS GONNA BLOW alarm, aka overheating)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 06:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to mrscientific13
Default

If you do decide to put the fan as the case side make sure that there's enough holes elsewhere in the case to keep adequate air flow, otherwise it'll be completely useless.
mrscientific13 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 08:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea like cut 80mm holes on the top, back, have no expansion covers, loose a cd drive cover, and it should be pretty good.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.