gaming computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2005, 10:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 56
Question gaming computer

I've been trying to put together a gaming computer for about 2 months now and I'm having trouble. All I know is that I want a computer that will able to handle new games such as bf2, hl2 & source, and F.E.A.R. when that comes out.
The only parts I'm sure that I want is 80 gigs of HD from Seagate, nVIDIA 6800 GT, and either 512 or 1 gig of ram. Everything else I need help with, so can people post good parts for a computer and try to keep the overall price at most 1000 dollars. Thank you
__________________

bmamione is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 56
Default

Raidmax 268 ATX Mid-Tower Case w/ 350W Power Supply BLACK
AMD® Athlon-64 3200+ CPU w/ Hyper Transport Technology
CPU fan and Heatsink
Abit KV-80 VIA K8M800 w/LAN, 5.1 Sound, IEEE-1394, USB 2.0 8x AGP Motherboard
1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory Module Corsair
Integrated Xtreme Graphics AGP Video w/ 64 Mb Shared memory which I will take out and put in the Leadtek 6600 that I have at home. (the Integrated gfx card is free)
Western Digital 80 GB 7200 RPM Ultra ATA-100 8MB Cache Hard Drive
56x CD-ROM Drive black
3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard--I will buy a new sound card if I find nessesary
600W PMPO 3 PCS Super Bass Subwoofer Speaker System
10/100 Network Onboard
PS/2 104 Key
Microsoft IntelliMouse 1.1A USB Internet Mouse

Which comes out to be 559.00 an extrememly low price for what looks like a high end computer.

Tell me what you think
__________________

bmamione is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

ABIT is horrible, go with DFI LanParty nF3 250GB. It has great overclocking options and has AGP 8x.

Corsair is only good w/ selling value RAM. If you want to game, you need to get DDR2 RAM, like OCZ, Patriot, TwinMOS, maybe even G. Skill. But if you really dont want to spend $100+ for RAM, go w/ Corsair ValueSelect, TwinMOS, or OCZ Premier Value.

3200+ is great, that will OC nicely, and is necessary for future 64-bit gaming.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 56
Default

For a mobo I'll change it to this:
Asus K8V-MX VIA K8M800 w/LAN, 5.1 Sound IEEE-1394 USB 2.0 8x AGP Motherboard

The Corsair was already the Corsair-Value/Major Brand but I may switch to Kingston Hyper X or Geil Ultra X whichever is the best for gaming.
bmamione is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

ASUS is fine. Geil is a great RAM company, can OC well.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 56
Default

SO the Geil is my best bet?
bmamione is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 12:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

I think the corsair is fine. I really don't understand why everyone talks about getting RAM other than whatever. It's 1gb, I really don't think you'll notice a difference if you get a more expensive brand.
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 12:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 56
Default

O ok. I really didnt wanna spend the extra money on RAM i just wanted to clear it up.
bmamione is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 12:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Yeah, just keep the corsair IMO.
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 12:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 56
Default

can this setup play hl2, bf2, and the source games?
__________________

bmamione is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.