Freeware to Test CPU at Load - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2007, 10:16 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 59
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

I ran Prime 95. It worked all 4 cores. Worked like a charm. Here's the problem. At 100% on all 4 cores, CPU hovered at 62C to 63C. After about 25 minutes, it started spiking -- I let it rise, and it slowly rose to 71C. Then I got scared and aborted the test. What happened, and is my load temp 62/63C or 71C+?
__________________

TheMaestro is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 12:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

After a good amount of time during the stress test, it will spike up slowly. And 71C is the max acceptable temperature for load, or so I've heard, for quad cores. 62-63C is perfectly acceptable for load. Not much danger in that. I suggest you either downclock a little or decrease the volts just a little.

What cooler are you using? If it's stock, I would suggest you get an aftermarket cooler. But seeing as you can afford a QX6850, you should go watercooling. And a good one cost about, $250-300+.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 12:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 59
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Thanks b1gapl.

My cooler is a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme. I didn't know you could downclock or downvolt a CPU on stock clock/volts. Is that risky? Know of any reviews on that?
TheMaestro is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 01:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaestro View Post
Thanks b1gapl.

My cooler is a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme. I didn't know you could downclock or downvolt a CPU on stock clock/volts. Is that risky? Know of any reviews on that?
No its not risky.

The Underclocking Experiment - PCSTATS.com


For stressing Intel CPUs, get the Intel TAT software. Totally accurate and is a better temp raiser than orthos.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 06:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 59
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Vaanish,

Can you point me to a link for the Intel TAT software?
TheMaestro is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 06:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaestro View Post
Vaanish,

Can you point me to a link for the Intel TAT software?
Intel TAT - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 06:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

SuperPI, Prime95 or Orthos
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 06:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 59
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Vaanish -- Thanks.

Vernong -- Where can I get SuperPI. Does it stress all 4 cores in a Quad?
TheMaestro is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 06:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 59
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Vaanish -- sorry, one more question. Just confirm I can use TAT with a QX6850. Thanks.
TheMaestro is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 06:26 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Freeware to Test CPU at Load

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaestro View Post
Vaanish -- Thanks.

Vernong -- Where can I get SuperPI. Does it stress all 4 cores in a Quad?
well... idk about that.. because i haven't exactly used a Quad-Core based system... but i can alway hit google and get back to you with an answer..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
editing software puts heavy load on CPU? darsunt Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 10-03-2007 11:40 AM
cpu temp spiking advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-07-2007 10:49 AM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.