flow rate and temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2008, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Question flow rate and temps

Ok so i rerouted my cpu loop because i had it going pump > cpu block > rad > res > repeat, to now its pump > rad > block > res > repeat. But at the same time i turned my pump down from 3 to 1 on both loops. And it seems as though both loops have gone up about 10C. I did nothing other than remove and remount the blocks on the gpu and turn down the flow. Could the flow rate really make that much difference in the temps i'm getting in my loops?
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 11:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: flow rate and temps

Yes, it's simple Thermodynamics... If it's possible to be simple.

You slow down your flow, there for the fluid is sitting long in the hot zone and getting overall hotter, so the delta T, difference in temp is less,, so it absorbs less.

Your setup also can cause issuyes.. before, the heat woul be expeled right after its added, Your rad is your best cooling, then still have more time to goto room temp, and dumped into a larger mass, furher reducing the temp.

Now, you have the hottest fluid dumpuing into your larget mass, thus raising your initial Temp, So really, your rad is cooling not hot fluid, closer to room temp, and it doesn't do that well.

Go back to your old settup. and it should work better.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: flow rate and temps

Actually thats backwards. The radiator is going to cool the water right before it goes into the cpu block therefore the coolest water in the system should be the water coming out of the radiator. The way i had it before, the heat dump from the pump was going into the cpu block. I think i just didnt get a good mount.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 06:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: flow rate and temps

How much heat is the pump putting out? Has to be less than the cpu?

Is your rad chilled? If not it will only cool to room temp, which your resvoir should be at. SO you aren't cooling before you go into the block, if you are its very minimal.

And infact that way it should be increasing the temp of your resivoir fluid... Thereby decreasing your cooling.

Thermodynamically, your old way should be better, unless the pumps hotter than your cpu.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.