are floppy drives essential - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2005, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default are floppy drives essential

i didnt order a floppy drive because they seem so outdated

i am fixing to boot up my computer for the first time and am wondering how to get around installs that use floppy
__________________

Effex is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

you prettymuch cant
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

What installs are on floppy? They're very very rare anymore.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

floppys are so old... they are obsolete
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default

only my sata drivers for my hd so far. but i was mostly wondering cause i thought that it was needed for the initial setup of the os
Effex is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

No, not unless you're installing Windows 3.1 or something...
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

actually. you do need to install those sata drivers from the floppy dude. ask anybody here with an sata harddrive. it askes you when you are installing windows xp for the first time on an sata drive.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yup. I thought floppies weren't needed to until I ordered a SATA drive. Then it becomes fairly handy. It takes up no power or space and are very cheap and would come in handy in more places than one.

The only other way to install a SATA drive without a floppy is to make a slipstream CD.

http://greenmachine.msfnhosting.com/READING/addraid.htm

There's some instructions on how to do that
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 06:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Just take a floppy from a random computer, they're so easy to get hold of. No need to buy one.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 06:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to Alex4R Send a message via Yahoo to Alex4R
Default

I didn't think I would need a floppy drive when I built my most recent PC, boy was I wrong.. They do come in handy
__________________

Alex4R is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.