Flashing 6800GT to Ultra - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2005, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default Flashing 6800GT to Ultra

i have a 6800GT that i have overclocked al ready. i want to overclock it more. i know what flashing the bios is and what it involves.

I was just wondering if the bios of the ultra have higher voltages to the vcore to get a higher overclock.
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 03:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Just make sure you've got good cooling, man. My eVGA 6800 GT was at Ultra speeds and it may have been the reason my comp was rebooting at certain actions.
Just keep it chilly in there.
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

increase the AGP's voltage manually. if u have good temps, increasing the AGP's voltage will help when increasing the VPU's cock.
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

What is ideal temps for the Evga 6800 GT? including under load?
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 05:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

im getting 50c idle and 58c load. i think thats a little cooler than the average.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 06:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Upping the AGP voltage from 1.5 to 1.6 can be risky. I don't know of anyone whos done that simply for higher graphics card OC.

Yes adding voltage gives stability, but with the AGP card I'd simply not rather take the chance.

For the most part I believe the people who've flashed it simply wish it to be recognized as an Ultra, don't know if it's actually added stability or anything. Somethin to look into
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 06:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

I've had Radeons at 1.65v on a 74 Mhz AGP bus with complete stability.
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 06:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

74MHz AGP bus is just askin for trouble, screw that.

I'd rather leave voltage and bus speed normal and just OC the card as normal.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 06:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

It really is asking for trouble, but on many of the boards I had there was no PCI/AGP lock... So I really had no choice.

Good news was that the entire system was stable after testing the CPU/RAM/GPU/GRAM for 72 hours straight! Some people get lucky!
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 06:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Jaksback keeps his at 72MHz only because his doesnt have an AGP/PCI lock and he wants his CPU OC'd
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.