First build help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2005, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default First build help

ok i just installed two LED fans, and they fit fine and i positioned them the right way. but the stock fans have an extra piece running out of them.




that small piece isnt on my LED fans.... is that a problem?
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 03:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

RPM cord, it attatches to your motherboard to tell you how fast the fan is running.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 03:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

oh ok so it doesnt matter then... i just want it to work.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 04:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Well I am sure there is an avalable 3-pin connector on the mobo, it would be nice to know your fan speeds...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

yeah true. i just installed the backplate and the mobo mounts, along with the two LED fans. next i'm going to mount my motherboard. this is awsome.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

That extra cord is to change the speed isnt it?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 05:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

next step: mounting the motherboard , since i don't have all my parts i'm just going to install the ones i have.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 10:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

i would leave it in the bag so it doesn't get all dusty.
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 09:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

i closed my case so it wont.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 09:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

...you think a close case does not collect dust...
__________________

__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.