Fan on RAM - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2005, 07:30 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Well mabey you could use duct-tape? j/k I wouldn't want to glue it either. Nubius, mabey you could register on that forum and ask how to he/she did it.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 07:51 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
You could use a sleeving kit. The only problem is that it is a pain in the *** if you don't have a female molex remover.
PSU's wires are all sleeved, just not the miscellaneous fans around my case, but yeah I don't care to tackle that I'm getting a new case anyway so it should be better cleaned up.

Quote:
Nubius, mabey you could register on that forum and ask how to he/she did it.
lol and then it'd suck to get there and he's like 'oh my case is just on its side and the fan sitting there'

Besides TF is the only girl for me
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 08:00 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Besides TF is the only girl for me
I seriously hope that u don't mean that!
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 02:58 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

how about using some metal string garden stuff (can't think of the name) which would hopefully be able to take the weight of the fan and not loose strenth, but it would look a bit like a garden in the case. lol
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:22 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah I don't even understand what you are describing really.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:24 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

Awesome idea Trifid... That could very well work!
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:06 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

i put and 80mm in my drive bays facing the side fo the RAM, and then the side panel has a windows right in front of the RAM's...perfect placement. 2*80mm on them is overkill but the drivefan bay also pushed cold air from the outside right into the fins on my HSF so it helps there a bit too. I'll take a few pics for ya'...jsut cuz i'm dead bored...

[img=http://img157.exs.cx/img157/3895/computer0032qs.th.jpg]





sry u cant see very good, i was in really close. my shutter speed on the camera is so fast it looks like thae fans are off lmao. they are really spinning at like 2500RPM a second.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:32 PM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 4W4K3
they are really spinning at like 2500RPM a second.
2500 revolutions per minute a second? lol.
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:36 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Hmmm cool 4W4K3! Those fans look crazy, can't believe your cam snaps that quick lol. Well since I'll be moving it into a case with fans I'll have lots of fans to have as spares

Don't think I'll be able to put it like yours though because my drive bays will be filled

I think I'm going to try and make a little bracket that I can bolt to the side of the drive bay. If I make the little device I'll scan it in because I don't have a camera =/

Oh well plans thus far are cut out the back fan grill, install a 120mm on the side and figure out somethin for the RAM.

Hope I don't wind up making this case just as loud
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:40 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SanToast
2500 revolutions per minute a second? lol.
agh you got me lol my bad.

Quote:
Don't think I'll be able to put it like yours though because my drive bays will be filled
ah that might be a problem lol. maybe if you have a blower fan on the top of your case you can duct mod it to blow right on your RAM's. crazy but might work...
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.