dual mobo case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2005, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default dual mobo case

can any one tell me were i can get a dual mobo case. i want to have a gaming rig and a sever in the same case to tack to lans. to case has to have dual mobos and dual power suplies

mxman is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

nope. Can you say "Case Mod?" They don't sell those unless someone here has a stupid little specialty store link or something



<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Disillusion's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810

I've never heard of a dual motherboard case. If you do build one, make sure you have some good ventilation and airflow going through that thing because you will have twice the heat.
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

I have seen people talk about this before. At the end of the day you are just better of getting 2 seperate cases.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,953

Take two cases. Flip one upside down. Drill a few holes and pop-rivet 'em together.

You don't have to thank me... just send money.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 10:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
H4x3r's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r

^^^ ahaha...i'll stick to my stick welder.
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 10:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
PP Mguire's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,031

Ill stick w/ letting the LAN provide the servers.
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire Mechwarrior Online = Thunderson PSN = PP_Mguire

Need Descent and Mechwarrior buddies!
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 10:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
GrimReaper23's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23

LOL! I never been to a LAN before I really want to go but there really isn't none here.
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 11:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327

there so much better with ur friends at someones house .lukily my friends also enjoy computer games and have good pc's too.
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 11:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
RockyZ's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ

I'm just a lil kid, all my friends are lil kids, we don't have cars, and our computers are all big. There is almost no way we can move our computers.

Anyone attending SVFrag?
Its in San Jose, its one of the few around the bay area.

I have to think of some way to ask my parents. Once I mention the word game, they will probably say no.

As for your case, I would go with a full tower and drill some holes so you can fit 2 boards on one side, (One of the boards would proll have to be MATX), a watercooling solutuion would be best in your case. I would also plug in as many fans as it would fit. I also probably go with a Aluminum case without windows to hide all the mess.


G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.