cpu cooling advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2003, 06:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default cpu cooling advice

Hey guys,
Im thinking of buying the new Volcano 12, hsf. If i bought this then attached it to my processor (the specs of my comp are shown below ^^), Would it help me in overclocking??? i.e. Will i be able to o/c further than my current status.
My comp is CURRENTLY overclocked at 2.16ghz, im trying to get it up to 2.4, lol is this even possible for an Amd Athlon 2500+?? some ppl have told me some stories but i dont know if their bsing or not... so help!!! lol
thanks,
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

i'm suprised your chip hasn't blow with the stock hsf on there, but good luck... btw, what's your chip temp right now? mine's stable around 53-56c right now, and i'm getting scared, i know it's a safe temp, but cooler is always better =)
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Water Cool it. You won't regret it and they are so easy now to setup...
http://www.thinkgeek.com/pcmods/cooling/6044/
this one is very easy and pretty cheap...

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

/\ agree. You won't get very far with air cooling. Time to take the leap to water if you want to really push it.

Just make sure that you have enough money to buy a new chip if you f it up.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 02:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Demalii my current system temp is 58 degrees celcius, but im getting scared as well :S
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 11:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Demalii
i'm suprised your chip hasn't blow with the stock hsf on there, but good luck... btw, what's your chip temp right now? mine's stable around 53-56c right now, and i'm getting scared, i know it's a safe temp, but cooler is always better =)
damn, ya'll must not have very good processors or something. i did this with retail heatsink/fan and i have a 1800+ t-bred. i have it OCed to 2.2ghz and it stays under 50 C except when gaming. what's up with ya'll processors?

Erik is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Syphanx
Demalii my current system temp is 58 degrees celcius, but im getting scared as well :S
Man, I've got a 2600 and it's lower then that. I'd make sure your HSF is seated properly and you have enough thermal paste on there.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 03:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

yeah ive put heaps of thermal paste on there, but as i said in a preious post, i bought some cheapo thermal paste and not artic silver 5 and now i regret it. and Bandage_boy, what is the program u r using to see ur temp?? I currently use H monitor, but it's not excellent
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 03:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 32
Default

if you want that cpu monitoring program goto this link and get the 3.1a version or whatever is the newest full version

http://hp.vector.co.jp/authors/VA002.../download.html

my one question is does it monitor cpu temp anywhere, I havent been able to find it yet...

**I'm personally stickin with air for now, I'm not too trusting when it comes to water and sensitive circuts that cost big $$$. The only thing is when getting a new hsf you must consider the number of divisions in the hs itself (more equals better heat dispersion over the hs surfaces) and one neat concept that acutally does make sense, the thermaltake series has a ducting mod that takes air at a different angle than stock hsf.

Normal stock hsf have a dead spot in the center where the axle/motor of the fan is stored so there tends to be a 'hotter' hot spot directly over the chip, negating the whole equal dispersion idea**
Admiral558 is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 07:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 154
Send a message via Yahoo to daveppeters
Default

The best program to use for monitoring temps/voltage/fan rpm, etc is Motherboard Monitor. Go to http://mbm.livewiredev.com/ to download it.
__________________

__________________
IWill XP-333 / 384MB PC2100 DDR / AMD T-Bird 1.33GHz (o/c to 1.40 until I get a better CPU cooler!) / VisionTek GeForce4 MX440 / SB Live! X-Gamer 5.1 / Maxtor 20GB 7200 RPM HD / Toshiba 8X DVD / Sanyo 40/12/40X CD-RW / Win XP Home

http://www.statgfx.com/statgfx/foldi..._original&.jpg
daveppeters is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.