Cooling question from an amateur. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2005, 02:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Den
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I took the side of my case off, and now my CPU temp is down to 45-46C(just idling).

And about the Single Channel RAM you guys mentioned, should it be set to something else?
__________________

Den is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

no it's not a setting....it's the type.. it's not dual channel ram
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

If you have 2 sticks of ram, it should be set to "Dual Channel"

Another stick doubles your bandwidth, and doubles your space
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Den
I took the side of my case off, and now my CPU temp is down to 45-46C(just idling).

And about the Single Channel RAM you guys mentioned, should it be set to something else?
Ya, usually on mobos like yours, if you have 2 similar sticks of RAM, they will run in dual channel mode, which allows for a little more data transfer to and from the RAM. Dont worry too much about it, as the performance increase is very little.

If you do want to run your RAM in dual channel, and you might as well, check your mobo manual to see which DIMM slots need to be filled on your mobo to make the RAM run in dual channel. Yours will probably be 1 and 3 or 2 and 4 (Put one stick of RAM in slot 1 and the other in 3).

There is also a BIOS setting that you might have to enable once the RAM is in the correct slots. The BIOS setting will actually say, "Dual Channel Enabled" or something to that effect, so it will be easy to find.

Like I mentioned, If you cant get dual channel to work, then dont worry about it as it only gives about 1% to 4% performance increase
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Den
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I have 2 sticks of 512MB DDR PC3200 RAM and both are taking up the only 2 slots I have. So moving the sticks to other slots, is unfortuntely not an option for me.
Den is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I went to the ASUS website, to look at your mobo, and it turns out your mobo cant run dual channel anyways. So, like I said, dont worry about it. You arent missing out on much.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:35 PM   #17 (permalink)
Den
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks, I thought I read that somewheres in my manual before. You guys have been an enormous help so far, and I really appreciate it.
Den is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Here is a tip for prescott users:

The stock HSF for LGA775 package prescotts, is the best cooling solution for air cooling.

For 478-pin prescotts, an aftermarket HSF*high rpm/high CFM* with AS5 is the best air cooling solution.

*as of now, I am trying to find someone/benchmarks, of a stock lga775 hsf that has the pad off, and replaced it with AS5*
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
Here is a tip for prescott users:

The stock HSF for LGA775 package prescotts, is the best cooling solution for air cooling.

For 478-pin prescotts, an aftermarket HSF*high rpm/high CFM* with AS5 is the best air cooling solution.

*as of now, I am trying to find someone/benchmarks, of a stock lga775 hsf that has the pad off, and replaced it with AS5*

What??!!? So you dont think a zalman7700 will bring down my temps????
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 04:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I think you are better off with a stock HSF.

I got a 2.8 oc'd to 3.0ghz (i can go higher by the way)

I get 32c idle, 49c full load
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.