computer has slowed down dramatically! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2006, 08:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

have you tried disabling services? at services.msc, enter it from Run. and msconfig.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 11:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 27
Default

you sholud try to overclock you pc to multiper of 11 if possilbe.
But you want to keep your temp between 30 C and 40 C. The only problem with overclocking is that you will reduce you hardware life. But most part last about a million hours anysways so you should be fine.
__________________

amar1089 is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 12:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Go back to 32-bit XP. AT least you know its stable (or as stable as MS can get...).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 12:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

wat is the diff between 32 and 64, i figured 64 is for servers, but what are teh actule differnces why is 32 bit more stable?
harry18 is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 01:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Faster, but not that much right now. Microsoft has to develope it the OS a bit more.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 06:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

64x is STABLE, it doesnt crash or anything, its just that a lot of programs that aren't as popular don't support the 64x system. it runs fine though, although i havnt noticed any speed increase over the 32x. if i vow never to use the 64x software again, could i justify downloading it? lol

edit: haha, if you have your fonts and sizes set to default, and your window is maximized on an 800x600 resolution or higher, all the "64x"'s in my reply line up (on IE anyway..)
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.