Building a comp w/ SATA HDD. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2004, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default Building a comp w/ SATA HDD.

Is there anything special I need to know when building and installing the OS on a comp w/ a SATA drive as opposed to a regular IDE drive?
I have a copy of Windows XP Home which I plan to install and is already on this comp.

If it would help I DO have my current IDE HDD with XP Home installed in case that would be easier to use initially.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 05:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yup, you need to make sure you have a floppy drive and that's basically it.

When you pop in the WinXP CD and it starts to boot and you first see that blue screen PAY ATTENTION!!! this is REALLY important...down at the bottom for like 5 seconds if that it says:

PRESS F6 TO INSTALL 3RD PARTY SCSI/RAID DRIVERS

So hit F6 right away...it'll then copy the necessary files then bring up a prompt.

You'll want to hit S to specify a mass storage drive. From there your floppy should be in the drive, select the appropriate drivers and off you go.

If you get a message like 'This is an incompatible partition' once you try to install WinXP...then make sure that SATA drive is the only drive connected and it should work.

EDIT: OMG!! I just helped satan! Your post count when I posted this was 666
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 05:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Your Inbox is full so I can't send any PM's. Here's what I said though:

Yeah, well like I said your motherboard SHOULD have come with a floppy but yeah you will need to go to the manufacturer site...download the drivers onto a floppy...then go about doing the format.

Boot from CD-ROM
Hit F6 as soon as you see it say so at the bottom
Make sure floppy with SATA drivers is in the floppy
It'll ask you to hit S to specify a mass storage drive
You'll select the drivers from the floppy

Then your HD will show up where the HD's and partitions normally show up on any other format.

Also though, I had 3 IDE drives hooked up in my system, and then was going to install WinXP on my new SATA drive...for whatever reason it said 'PARTITION IS INCOMPATIBLE' and I couldn't install on the drive until I unhooked all the other drives....don't know if it'll happen to you, but if it does you know how to fix it
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Sorry Nub, I cleaned out my PM box. Thanks so much!
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.