Blowhole Mod continued. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 03:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default Blowhole Mod continued.

Okay after a month or so I finally got around to getting a hole saw.. 89mm.. so this should work extremely good for my 92mm blow hole mod im about to do..

I tested it on an old crappy case I had laying around and it cut very smooth.. if I wasnt in a rush I probably could do it without any tape..

My question is Im trying to find a way to cut the actual holes for my screws in the case? I used the rotozip and it seemed to work but I think I broke the bit.. cant remember if its because I tried sawing with it or just because the metal was too thick.. any thoughts?


besides that I think it will go pretty smooth the hole came out great I just need to buy a grill and a fan and ill do it next week.. post pics also.
__________________

__________________
System Specs:
-Msi Neo Platinum 2 Nforce 3 Ultra
-Amd 3200+ @ 2.6ghz (260fsb x10 4xhtt)
-Ocz EL Platinum Revision 2 (3 3 3 10 @ 260 =DDR520)
-Ultra X-connect 500W Modular Power Supply
-BFG 6800gt OC @ 420/1.1
-Western Digital Caviar 200gb 8mb Sata Hard drive
-NEC Black DVD Burner
-Logitech X-530 5:1 Speaker System
-ViewSonic G90FB Black 19\"
-Kingwin Mutant X Silver/Gray w/ window
-Thermalright Xp-90 Cpu running Idle @28c Load @ Highest 51c Average 39c
-Windows Xp Home Edition Service Pack 2
**Whimmy wham wham wozzle!**
crossphyr is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

You just need a metal drill bit.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

If you have a dremel you can pick up a set of metal drill bits for it at wal-mart fo runder 10 dollars.
BillGates is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 12:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

umm a hole drill would be alot better and also mask tape around where you make your hole so you dont take any paint off if there is any.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 01:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 112
Default

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...&s=hi&v=glance
sorry for the long link, dont know how to post a link as a word.
but anyway, a unibit would work best, im sure you can probable find one cheper, but that the first one i saw.
or a good titanium bit, would work with like a 14.4 volt, or 18 volt drill.
get two bits, one the size of the screw, and one half that size. dril a small center hole, then use the bigger one.
hope that helps
BRreed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.