Was this a bad idea? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2006, 07:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Was this a bad idea?

I currently have my x2 3800+ at 1.7v but the load temps dont go above 40 degrees celcius. Is this ok?
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it certainly is if you don't need it that high

if you are running at 1.7v for 2.5GHz i think it is not worth running the vcore that high. i wouldn't be happy to run a vcore like that unless it was at around about 2.8GHz. you should be able to run 2.7GHz at around about 1.5v :amazed:
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Thats what I said but it only runs one core stable for 8 minutes. I will try it again. Just failed at 1.7v. ****!
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

That was the only time I ever ran 1.7v and it was for less than 15 minutes. The highest I have even ran besides that was 1.55v. I am trying 1.5v right now.

Temps have never passed 50 celcius.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

either you have some nice cool room temperatures or your temperature sensor is faulty if it's reading that low for 1.7V. you really shouldn't push much further than 1.7V and if i were you i wouldn't run 1.7V without watercooling. it's ok to run suicide benchmarks at high voltages with air cooling but you wouldn't want to do so 24/7. 1.8V is about the sudden death point for an Athlon64 E revision. if you go much over that the chip will just be nuked.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 08:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I got a big typhoon with a 95cfm fan on it. I have 4 of the same case fans in a room at 60 degrees. Are my temperature sensors faulty now? Lol
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 09:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I love you Nitestick, no homo. 1.5v seems to be the sweet spot so far. 1 hour prime stable at 2.5ghz with the ram running 1:1 at ddr500 3-3-2-8 timings. SWEET!
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 09:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

:amazed:

a thank you would have sufficed . well the fact that 1.5V seems more stable leads me to believe your sensor is faulty. either that or your cpu was simply running too hot to be stable at that voltage. stable temperatures decrease with voltage and clock speed.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 09:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

There was an issue where one core failed at 1 hour 16 minutes but I restarted that core and now its 2 hours stable and the other is obviously 3 hours 16 minutes stable. Also maybe its just the game but, when coh is open the pc tends to lag a bit. Like typing and switching programs lags a bit too.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 10:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry, if i'm familiar with coh the name isn't coming to me. yeah anyway, voltage and overclocking can do some very funny things it's almost impossible to learn overclocking from the internet. it's just something you learn with practicve and it becomes a part of you. i don't know about you but i don't really think about overclocking any more, you feel the settings. right now you probably either think i've been smoking some wacky-tobaccy or you know exactly what i mean.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.