b1, my computer blew up...what do I do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2007, 03:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default b1, my computer blew up...what do I do?

JK. here's proof of my 3.4ghz on stock hsf.

__________________

__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 04:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: b1, my computer blew up...what do I do?

What does that prove exactly?
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 04:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: b1, my computer blew up...what do I do?

lol i can even get that clock easily with my e6320
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 06:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: b1, my computer blew up...what do I do?

that its possible to over clock to reasonable temps with spending very little money hence stock cooling............... id you use stock thermal paste aswell???? and that cpu would get a little too hot for my tastes when on load
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 11:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: b1, my computer blew up...what do I do?

WHOA!!!! photobucket has video now?
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 11:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: b1, my computer blew up...what do I do?

OK, now I believe it. Good job, nu2duo. Man....why can't khan do this...heh..
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 11:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Cool Re: b1, my computer blew up...what do I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
that its possible to over clock to reasonable temps with spending very little money hence stock cooling............... id you use stock thermal paste aswell???? and that cpu would get a little too hot for my tastes when on load
I know my #'s are no big deal, but keep in mind I have rather inexpensive parts. Stock cooling, cheap case, low end memory, $3 fans, and yet I'm able to achieve 3.4ghz.
My friends b1 and guru thought I was joking when I said I was using stock cooling and working with 3.4ghz. Anyway, the point is that it's very possible to oc an e6600 this high with stock cooling.

I want to point on thing out, last night I ran orthos for 1hr...then it crashed.
Thanks to b1 and guru, I now understand that 1hr or less w/orthos then crashing means it's unstable. However, I argue that my pc will less than likely ever work under ortho's kind of lstress. I do video editing and photoshop work(personal use) and under these workloads, my e6600 handles its business!!! So for my kind of everyday pc use, stock hsf and the temps I work with are very acceptable to me.

So again, I'm aware that 3.4ghz is nothing new. I'm not the first nor the last to do it.
Thanks again to b1 and guru...u guys made me push it this far. 8^)

P.S. Last night I pushed it to 3.5 for 10 min while surfing the net....but I'm very happy at 3.4....
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 12:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: b1, my computer blew up...what do I do?

the Ultra V Series isnt a crappy brand...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 12:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Talking Re: b1, my computer blew up...what do I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
the Ultra V Series isnt a crappy brand...
Really? You're about the only one here that has Ultra in their sig. I figured it was cheap since nobody I know buys Ultra. Good looking out though.

Hey b1, just looked at your pics at photobucket....you've got a bad a$$ case! Wire mngmt is really good. Those newb pics are funny.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 02:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: b1, my computer blew up...what do I do?

I will add some pics of mine once done so probably 3-4years to go lol here is what it currently looks like as I made a "paper" panel to keep dust off whilst I am modding the real one.....

BTW I can't get the **** sound level indicator to work!!! Do cases have warranty's??? as I think the sound level indicator may of fried......... they probably wouldn't take my case back though as it looks like atm lol

here it is stock (didn't take any pics before I began modding):
Welcome to Thermaltake

here it is now (no wire management yet as I am going to take everything out for painting so no point managing wires):

I bet you wish you had a paper panel now

the square area above the optical drives has gone rusty now but its going to be part of my modding

look at those wires lol!!!
look at that second hdd bay on the crossover completely useless because of the graphics card!!!!!!!!

some of the parts are actually missing from the case as I needed them to practice my modding so I just removed chunks like the second cross over support
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.