AMD Tempuratures - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2006, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 63
Default AMD Tempuratures

Ok I just got done looking at the overclocking thread and was wondering if the tempuratures given are averages or max. Cause it shows my CPU temp as being 85-90 is this the max or average.

I have an AthlonXP 2400 and it runs underload at 52 -56 and is always on day and night.
__________________

__________________
SPEEEED UP Windows XP using the secret tweaks in these videos.
toniaxp is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

for any AMD and Intel for that matter, is usually better kept under 60C.

How can your idle be 85-90C and you load be 52-56C? For load thats fine but your appearent idle is way off
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 06:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

52-56 under load is fine for an socket A Athlon.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 01:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i concur Trotter. those temperatures are acceptable for load. not brilliant but still acceptable. 85-90 degrees is the TOP end of the operating temperature range.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 02:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

my Athlon XP 2800+ (in the family system) runs at around 50-60ºC
it used to go up to 70ºC, I had to cut a hole in the side of the case and put an extra fan blowing onto the CPU cooler
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

my buddie used to have a 2400 and it ran around that temp and all was good.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 12:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Yea I have an older Duron 1400mhz that runs around them temps, it's all fine...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 12:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

my athlon 2400+ runs at 35-45c with a stock hs...

(slightly overclocked)
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.