AC for a computer? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2006, 08:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

lol i should consider that too,

i could buy a minifridge and then mod it to fit a case inside or something

good idea

it'd probably have a lot of condensation but i'm stupid enough to try it
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 09:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

yeah just wrap a plastic bag around it or somthing. or evenbetter yet just buy a mini fridge and mount your mobo and componenst in the fridge itself. have like your poswersupplyand hard drive in a drawr lol
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Done this with a wall AC unit before, didn't work out well for long periods of time.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
yeah just wrap a plastic bag around it or somthing. or evenbetter yet just buy a mini fridge and mount your mobo and componenst in the fridge itself. have like your poswersupplyand hard drive in a drawr lol
Maybe if you did it right, but the condensation would be killer. Also if you isolated the components, the heat would be trapped in the seperate compartments. They do make case/minifridges, not sure exactly how they do it.
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I believe when you do something like this you have to insulate the tubing so condensation wont form.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

1- get a bathtub
2-put pure nonconductive liquid in it (pure H20)
3-place everything but hd in the liquid ( possibly the PSU too)
4-have a pump that pumps liquid into a freezer filled with liqud
5-enjoy a very cool system


WARNING- if this works send me $200 because its my idea
WARNING- if this doesnt work (more likly) IM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THAT U DO.

lol i wounder if that would actualy work. I know that people have completly submerged a comp (excuding the hd) and it worked for a while but then it gets electicly charged or somehing.
harley3344 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

cant you submerge it in like olive oil or somthing?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 04:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

you wouldnt be able to put the cd rom drive in it ethier though would you?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 04:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

i guess you could make it sticking out?

but umm, whats up with the post counter...its totally not goingup. i was looking forward to my 1000 lol
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

peple have used oil, I dont remember where it was, but yea it was nasty haha..


If you use distilled water you will be better off as its not conductive -- I THINK

Finally, insulating the tubing could work, as long as the fit is snug and it doesnt leak.
__________________

__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.