A64 3200 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2009, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default A64 3200

ok. so whats a safe range i can overclock my cpu with the stock cooling?
im at a different location than the computer is, so i want to know first from you guys, because im gonna be oc it over the phone with my 16yo brother tomorrow, and my bros a little slow

ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 04:08 AM   #2 (permalink)

Baez's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,985
Default Re: A64 3200

I'm guessing by that you mean an AMD Athlon64 3200+ S939?

That won't get very far at all especially on stock cooling. Take it up maybe 200MHz (might even be generous) and if it's still stable with a .1 vcore increase it should be good. Make sure to get him to check the temperatures regularly.


Baez is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 08:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Hefemeister's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: A64 3200

If I remember correctly you have a clawhammer and those ran hot. Even with aftermarket cooling I was only able to get a 5% overclock before heat became an issue. It was stable at higher clocks but way too hot, close to 70C.
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 09:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
hikaricloud's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: A64 3200

Well, it depends on if it's s754 or s939. I have the s754 myself, and this is the max I could overclock it over the stock of 2.2ghz:

After that, I get blue screens, but that's in no way a stable overclock. The highest I can hit is 2.476ghz, stable.
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ati HD 3200 review? dario03 System Upgrades 4 09-09-2008 03:15 PM
Maxtor 3200 Help Tchild Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-24-2007 12:10 PM
3200 stock cooling vs opteron stock cooling? zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 0 11-12-2007 06:52 AM
Selling DDR Pc 2700 and 3200 Ram Jayare012 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 07-07-2007 04:04 PM
Wtb: pc 3200 or 2700 ram (512 or 1gb) ricanflow Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 06-13-2007 02:53 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.