8GB and overclocking - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2008, 02:21 PM   #31 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

you and your outdated 8800gtx's
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 02:46 PM   #32 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Lol it isn't actually mine it was on google, I actully have though an 8600GT soon to be nagas GTS mind..
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 04:09 PM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

you liar!

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 04:19 PM   #34 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
you and your outdated 8800gtx's
outdated? Its still one of the most powerful single cards out there and in terms of single GPUs are concerned isnt that out performed by a 9 series card or the equavalent ati card out today, and its 2 years old!
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 05:31 PM   #35 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

The old gtx:

Nick is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 05:55 PM   #36 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
outdated? Its still one of the most powerful single cards out there and in terms of single GPUs are concerned isnt that out performed by a 9 series card or the equavalent ati card out today, and its 2 years old!
hey... it was a joke.. in case you've forgetten... I'VE OWNED 3!!!!

i in no way think the 8800gtx is outdated... lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 09:13 PM   #37 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

I get 35 fps on crysis on high 4aa with my amd x2 2.2 ghz.. but i have a gtx 260 (bottleeneckk looool) but i will be honest, i had 2 gigs and jumped to 4 (minus whatever 32 bit takes away) and i did see a performance increase (35 fps talking with the 4gb) but my ram sucks at mhz lol, its liek 400 or somethin.

If your running 4gb's at 1066 or even 800 your fine. You will need more later, and 8gb would give you some performance boost but not another friekin $150 or $100 or whatever, just wait till it gets cheap anyhow then maybe youll need it by then
Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:24 AM   #38 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jtumble2 View Post
I get 35 fps on crysis on high 4aa with my amd x2 2.2 ghz.. but i have a gtx 260 (bottleeneckk looool) but i will be honest, i had 2 gigs and jumped to 4 (minus whatever 32 bit takes away) and i did see a performance increase (35 fps talking with the 4gb) but my ram sucks at mhz lol, its liek 400 or somethin.

If your running 4gb's at 1066 or even 800 your fine. You will need more later, and 8gb would give you some performance boost but not another friekin $150 or $100 or whatever, just wait till it gets cheap anyhow then maybe youll need it by then
Hmm thanks for the informative information, 4 gigs probably also helps with any stuttering too. I currently plan to wait until novemeber to see if any good deals come out. Right now I plan to either get another expensive 2 gig sets of my HZ ram to make things easy, or get a whole brand new 4 gig set and hope everything works accordingly.

At best I hope to spend an addition 50 for another 2 gigs, right now another 2 gigs of HZ is like $109
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 03:11 PM   #39 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

back again guys with a bit of bad news

i got the ram and spent the last few days trying to get it stable without a overclock, for the most part it worked for about 5-10 mins with out a problem the it gave me the BSoD, other times it wouldent boot up

so i had no choice but to send it back, i lost out on 30 because of it sending it back but i know know its not compatable, on the other hand i found i have the GA-P35-DS3R rev 2.0, instead of the rev 2.1 that the ram is compatiable with

BUT

not to put a downer on the thread now its grew in to this, lets keep it going even though the main point of it has gone (not a happy person now because of it)
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 03:27 PM   #40 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
back again guys with a bit of bad news

i got the ram and spent the last few days trying to get it stable without a overclock, for the most part it worked for about 5-10 mins with out a problem the it gave me the BSoD, other times it wouldent boot up

so i had no choice but to send it back, i lost out on 30 because of it sending it back but i know know its not compatable, on the other hand i found i have the GA-P35-DS3R rev 2.0, instead of the rev 2.1 that the ram is compatiable with

BUT

not to put a downer on the thread now its grew in to this, lets keep it going even though the main point of it has gone (not a happy person now because of it)
Oh sorry to here that what a bummer, I also have the gigabyte P-35 DS3R, and although at one time I knew, I no longer remember what revision I had
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Dominator PC8500 (8GB) Timing Question mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 1 08-22-2008 10:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.