8GB and overclocking - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2008, 08:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

OK, say 15 years form now, we get to the level where MMOs have graphics the level of say, the Matrix. How many gigabytes of ram do you think you will need?
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 10:24 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

You just proved my point, "15 years from now." Therefore making it pointless to buy 8 gigs now. And that's IF we get to that level, which really isn't that likely. At some point it will reach somewhat of a peak.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 10:28 PM   #23 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Dude you obviously missed the point of my post. I said that it is not a question of if, but when and how much. I said that you will always need more as time goes on. You misread my post.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 10:52 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

not really. if anything u misread mine as i said we wont need that for approx 10 years.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 11:09 PM   #25 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Who says we wont need it for 10 years? The only reason, and the biggest reason, why developers for games dont make games use that much RAM is because there are VERY FEW people who have that much. So they would limit the amount of money they would make per game sold compared to the development costs of the game.

I bet that Crysis, BioShock, Assassins Creed all could perform much better if they used, or for a better term were programmed to use, 3GB or 4GB of RAM there would be a need for it. Espically if you were using Vista. Then 8GB would not be that far of a stretch.

You are looking at this from teh wrong perspective. You are looking at it cause right now the norm for a PC that is being sold is 1GB possibly 2GB. There are very few basic machines that are sold with much more. Gaming machines are starting to go with 4GB now.

If everyone had teh capability to have 4GB or 8GB adn it was common to have, you best be sure that software would be designed to use it. Games, 3D GFX, Image software all of it would be developed to use it.

Right now 8GB is a stretch for people to have. 4GB is starting to become more common. But if any developer wants to actually make money from what they are developing they have to keep the requirements low for those who do not upgrade and build high end PC's.

THAT is the reason why 4GB and 8GB of RAM are not totally necessary yet. Not anything else. It will be less than 10 years when we start to see 4GB become more and more common and high end machines have more.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 11:55 PM   #26 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Well said Mak.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 02:16 AM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

4gb is standard now for gamers, with nehalem 6gb will be standard for gamers and 9gb for enthusiasts...

10-15 years? Come on guys......
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 03:54 AM   #28 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
4gb is standard now for gamers, with nehalem 6gb will be standard for gamers and 9gb for enthusiasts...

10-15 years? Come on guys......
I agree, im getting 6GB's hopefully because otherwise it would be 3GB....
And in 15 years ill be twice my age.

Quote:
Right now 8GB is a stretch for people to have. 4GB is starting to become more common. But if any developer wants to actually make money from what they are developing they have to keep the requirements low for those who do not upgrade and build high end PC's.
Yeah! Like Crysis!
zedman3d is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 10:49 AM   #29 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
Software doesn't use energy, hardware does. I think what you mean is DX10 games are more demanding than DX9 games, which is true. Although the biggest determinant to Grpahics performance is your graphics card, not memory. Although memory is important.

But with 8 gigsw you run into a problem.
#1 its expensive
#2 it hurts OC performance
#3 you wont realistically use 8 gigs on a pc today
#4 even if you had crysis, photoshop, cod4 and premeir all open at the same time to fill up that 8 gigs, you would choke on your cpu and video card first.
#5 memory does not directly impact system performance, so you wont see a boost. memory only helps when you go from an insufficient amount to enough.

I have 4 gigs of ram. it didn't make hardly any difference in gaming performance over 2 gigs. This is probably due to the fact that crysis doesn't even use a gig of ram itself. If I wanted to improve gaming I would get a better cpu or video card first.
Hmmm I wish you guys were around to answer my thread when I asked what was the performance difference between 2 gigs and 4 gigs. Some say the jump is big and I will definitely notice a difference in games like Crysis Warhead, others say I wonít even notice at all. The reason I ask is because I build my computer a year ago with 2 gigs of ram, and since ram is so cheap now adays ( not the ram I have right now though ) I was wondering If it was worth it to upgrade to a brand new 4 gigs of ram stick and had questions like is it worth it price/performance wise to get the cheap corsair xms2 ram with slower timings for 4 gigs then dishing out another 100 bucks for that OCZ ram everyones recommending.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 12:18 PM   #30 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
If you have a skultrail based system then it would make more sense. But who actually has one?


My rig
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Dominator PC8500 (8GB) Timing Question mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 1 08-22-2008 10:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.