7c from just running winamp wtf>>?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2004, 02:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default 7c from just running winamp wtf>>??

my comp was about 40 idle, and i turned on winamp listened to music for a while and the temp went to 47c after like 5mins.


athlon xp 2500+

is this normal
?
__________________

Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 06:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

i set the multi to 13 x 167 to get 2170mhz and the idle temp is only 2mhz higher. when i use winamp and msn my temp is running at 56c, that is such bull****..

when other times its idle at 42.
__________________

Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 07:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

What type of heat-sink/fan do you use...and do you use a good thermal compound like arctic silver?
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 07:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

After listening to all these threads with all these problems with your temsp, Ive become convinced you need a change. Consider a new case (the mobo tray may be conducting alot of heat if removing the right panel helps alot), a new HS/Fan with AC5 and a couple more case fans.
__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 09:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy
Default

Just to let u know, winamp 3 uses alot of cpu power.... try getting winamp 5....... i think it uses less...


Note: Even Winamp 5 uses an avg of 90% of my P4 2.66 With HT


That might be what your problem is... it jumps up so high cuz it is almost at max load
__________________
<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
http://www.ratemypc.net/pictures/img40c64cbc90148.jpg
radguy is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

wow i didnt know winamp uses so much

i just need an intake hole and im set for cooling.

My temps go from idle to load range alot about 42-58

16c with the side panel off, mobo side panel side.

or with front off same results. thanks guys

i like my case and dont want to spend like 150 on a LAIN case, im happy with my good looking no name case cost me 70 (-10 rebate) CDN.
Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 10:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

i use stock heatsink/fan, but its upgraded kinda, dropped 4c with this little upgrade i put copper pipe holder clips into some fins, and they stick out making the heatsink bigger, the copper clips warm up nicely and temps are roughly 3 or 4c cooler with this. I know i can get away with using the stock heatsink. I removed that thermal crap that was on it, and reapplyed generic thermal paste. the 3 dollar sh#t.
Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 10:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

btw i used about 20 of these copper things they look like little "U"s they are for holding copper pipes against the wall.
__________________

Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.