6600gt overclocked - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2005, 05:48 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

ok my gpu is like 40c idle and 35C ambient and 65 under load
i have great case circulation
4x80mm fans and a 120mm fan on the side
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 05:55 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Calzinger
My 6800 GT hit a peak of 90C in B2 one time. Is that just down to it being a more powerful and cooling-hungry card?
Well, it seems like it can just really depend. My 6800GT would load at 90+, but others would only load in the upper 70's with stock cooling. Sometimes it just seems like the luck of the draw.

I ended up getting the NV5 and it lowered my load temps to the mid 70's.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 06:22 PM   #23 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
Well, it seems like it can just really depend. My 6800GT would load at 90+, but others would only load in the upper 70's with stock cooling. Sometimes it just seems like the luck of the draw.

I ended up getting the NV5 and it lowered my load temps to the mid 70's.
I guess the OC was contributing to the high temps. Were you running stock when you got 90C?

It actually does some to be a bit of "luck of the draw". I ran BF2 again with some 54 bots (well beyond the game's stable limit of 16) and I only hit a max of 84 C. There are probably plenty of factors like ambient temperature and such.

Hmpf, didn't realize those aftermarket GPU coolers actually make a significant difference. They just looked hot. Still though, that fan must be hella loud, eh?

Heck, you could spend a cactus load of money and watercool it. Get some idle of like 42 C and a load of 46 C. The delta between idle and load is just so far reduced.

Were you able to OC any further with that arctic cooler?

@timmer
Your case cooling is adequate. I think the artifacts were simply down to the card reaching is crap-out limit at that temperature. The random reboot was likely to be overheating. You did get a fantastic OC with air cooling. Be happy!
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 06:44 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Hmpf, didn't realize those aftermarket GPU coolers actually make a significant difference. They just looked hot. Still though, that fan must be hella loud, eh?

Heck, you could spend a cactus load of money and watercool it. Get some idle of like 42 C and a load of 46 C. The delta between idle and load is just so far reduced.

Were you able to OC any further with that arctic cooler?
It is actually quieter than stock It is this one here:
http://www.xoxide.com/arctic-cooling...evision-2.html

I can hit 430/1200 now. I never even tried that high prior to getting the cooler due to temps. I don't run it at those frequencies 24/7 just due to precaution. There is really no need. I get zero lag on my games at high settings as it is. If a more demanding game comes out where I need it I'll crank it up further.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 08:25 PM   #25 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

That's is a damn good buy actually. That's a significant OC there for an air cooler. I can only hit 420/1120 on my stock cooler. I'm shooting for around 500/1500 with water cooling. It has been done before, but a lot of people here at TF are doubting it. Then again, the cost is obviously significantly different. Just to WC your GPU, you're looking at $50 water block and $2.50 for additional Tygon tubing,

Do they have any other aftermarket GPU coolers? That arctic one is the only one I have seen.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 08:33 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
I'm shooting for around 500/1500 with water cooling. It has been done before, but a lot of people here at TF are doubting it.
LOL, I think I am one of the doubters

Now, not that it can't be done, but just not on stock voltage. To get that kind of OC you will need to do a volt mod. There are hacked BIOS's that up the voltage now though, so you don't necessarily need to do a hardware mod anymore. But if you do a volt mod, you could possibly hit that kind of OC.

Quote:
Do they have any other aftermarket GPU coolers? That arctic one is the only one I have seen.
I know Zalman has one as well...
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 08:39 PM   #27 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Well this guy who hit 1500 on the memory was on stock voltage. All he did was simply hook up his water rig and OC it in coolbits.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 09:25 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

ok i have been fooling with it now and i got these speeds
570/1.20 and very little artifacts and i think it was up around 77C is it artifacting cause of heat?
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 09:28 PM   #29 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Yeah, likely to be heat and the card simply saying "I can do it you stupid idiot! Throw down the settings!". You will notice that artifacting will usually occur after a good time of use, hence the possibility that it is heat-related.

But jeez, that is a damn good OC. But you are getting artifacts, eh? Not much sense in a high OC if everything is inside-out.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 09:29 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Calzinger
Well this guy who hit 1500 on the memory was on stock voltage. All he did was simply hook up his water rig and OC it in coolbits.
Yeah, but somewhere around 450 seems to be the max core speed with stock voltage. And that is a GOOD max.

Who knows though, maybe you'll make a liar out of me

Quote:
ok i have been fooling with it now and i got these speeds
570/1.20 and very little artifacts and i think it was up around 77C is it artifacting cause of heat?
It doesn't necessarily artifact just due to heat. It happens when it is unstable and therefore makes errors in its calculations. You do not want ANY artifacts. Bump it down until you have no artifacts and you have your max OC.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.