6600GT OCing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2005, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Question 6600GT OCing

Well i have a 6600GT PCI-E so its clocked at 1ghz mem 500mhz core stock. i want to get it higher and i have run it in doom3 as high as 595 and 1.2ghz for a short time (freaked out and quit)but im not sure whether its safe. my bigest problem is that i don;t know what happens with the mem. will it melt or will i get some warning?? It has no temp moniter for the mem so can i oc it? im not pumping in more voltage or anything but is it the same as with a cpu when ocing will it only really get hotter when i increese the voltage or will increeseing frequensies be able to heat it up to dangerouse levels?

lol yea i know its strange that im a noob in some ways and try thing on my cpu like 4ghz but thats probebly cos im a noob so im prepared to try it
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

When you see artifacts, rainbow flashes, things just not being drawn right, then you've pushed your card too far. That's all you need to be looking out for.

4ghz in the BIOS is pretty good being that most peoples computers simply won't boot, but the fact that you're windows usable stable OC isn't that high shows the most skill as far as OC'ing.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default

i ve gotten my 3500+ up to 2.45 i think before it died on me. such a bummer i liked that chip alot.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 11:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you mean before it was MURDERED
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 07:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Your 6600GT will either crash your entire computer or artifact than crash 5 seconds later.

I got mine to 1.3 and 598 for a while, than 2 min's in a stress test it would artifact.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

1.3 is crazy DJ. I've heard numerous reports of 1.2 and whatnot, but thus far the highest I've been able to do was 564/1046 I believe it was. It's lookin to be like the eVGA 6600GT isn't the best OC'ers...thinkin the leadtek probably is from what I've heard
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

well dont worry, sparkle is further behind even meHZ
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

XFX are known as a high overclocker and an unreliable card as well.

Also, is your ram stock at 900 or 1ghz, since mine is 1ghz.
Rember, I couldnt run 1.3 for long because of damned artifacts.

I didnt want to let go of my high overclocking 6600GT when i had to RMA it. With my luck, the new one will OC 3mhz on the ram and core
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

have u got urs back yet??? cant wait to these benches !
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 07:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Naah not yet, thursday.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.