500ghz? HA! Dont get your panties in a bunch. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2006, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Thumbs down 500ghz? HA! Dont get your panties in a bunch.

THis article says it all for ya.
It makes sense too.
http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20060622-7117.html
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 06:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

That thread is has already been posted:

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=110884

...ok nvm I just read the article.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 06:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Already knew about the fact that a single transistor can switch a lot faster than a bunch of them clock.

It's kind of amazing that people would report it like that though considering the people who are reporting it are supposed to know these kinds of things. Think we'd really jump from 3-4GHz processors to 500GHz-1THz? That shoulda been obvious.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

**** Nubius...



I was expecting PHz and YHz this year...


oh well
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 12:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

offtopic i know.. but i havent been here for a while... ppmcguire your icon isnt correct if thats bf2... i noticed that the 2 doesnt get backwards in the loading thing.. it spins only to stay facing forward
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 01:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Tell that to Havoc. He made it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 02:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

man havoc............you freakin suck
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 04:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

haha funny funny stuff.. caught the little things.. and i think the bf2 sign has dark red lines through it as well
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 04:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default



There you go, host it yourself.

Edit: hmm, I'm not adding the lines as I have no idea what they look like, never played BF2. Oh well, that's what you get.

P.S. I used the Gimp to do that.
The General is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 09:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

so.. you wanna tell me that this 500ghz 'chip' is generaly just a super radio?... that sucks
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.