4850 screwing around! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2008, 08:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Eventually I may put it under water. But I won't spend money on a block + the extra **** just yet. I also am keeping my xfire options open and I I don't think I have enough room for 2 w/c'd 4850's, I might though, hmm.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 12:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
It looks like the Alienware Xenomorph theme..

Nice HD 4850

... god I hate you people with your powerful video cards
Your time will come Vern


Drizzt what did you score, I can't see it?
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 04:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

14,671 was the 2nd IMG, 3rd IMG pending....

When i bench at my highest settings before mod I will post it. I'm about to reinstal the drivers though because I think I may of installed twice...

This card btw is *** at synthetics but in any game I've played so far it is GOD like...

The smoothness of mass effect with everything maxed out is defiantly noticeable... Who gives a **** about crysis? rofl.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 05:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

yeah it's a great card.

Try GRID with tons of AA and AF and CoD4 as well.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 05:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

I would like to buy every copy of Crysis, then burn it in a huge bon-fire
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 06:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

thirdshift, I'll just say it here, I was wrong when I told you that you should of picked the 4850 over the 3870x2 for that price and you probably already know this. Even if you don't have to deal with all the dual gpu's on one PCB problems, the 3870x2 has a few things over the 4850. It does well in synthetics, and it overall performs better in games by a few fps. They could be called even and it would be fair, and the 4850 does perform better then the 3870x2 on occasion. But just for the synthetic benchmarks alone it's worth it. So sorry for the bad advice, and I'm glad you didn't listen.

So anyways.
Idk why people hate the stock cooler on the 4850... If you have the clocks within CCC limit and the fan at 50% you get AWESOME temps for a stock cooler. Or maybe I am just used to ****** 8800 gt stock coolers that Idle at 60C's

Well at 100% gpu load I only went to 50C's on stock cooler with 50% fan speed with a 660mhz overclock :O That seems fine to me....

-----------------
------------
----------
And so I did it again with 700mhz overclock.


Freaking 50C's is nice! If my accelero doesn't perform better I'll be ****ed, rofl.
--------
----
--

I found out something interesting while benching to make sure that my card was really stable at 700mhz. My card apparently has a "throttle-down" feature like on a cpu. When I'm idle it goes to 500mhz instead of 700, and my gpu memory clocks go to 700 instead of whatever. Do all 4850's have this? It could be just the ASUS ones because ASUS is one of those companies that is all about power saving. My motherboard for example has all those little features on it that I'm always disabling just in case

Here are the screenies, I hope it "proves" it. Idk why i would lie.

IDLE ZOOMED IN


-----------------
------------
----------



LOAD ZOOMED IN


-----------------
------------
----------

This card is hawt, Look at that quad 2.5 fps run!

--------------------
-----------
--------

p.s. I'm going to start editing my screenshots with fireworks to get them zoomed up... Its cause of my high resoultion I think.


I'll do another 3dmark06 run soon.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 08:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

It's cool, alot of other people suggested the 4850 too. I got it mainly for benchmarks and some gaming here and there. You do have me beat though when AA is on. It was a tough decision but the benchmarks is what made me choose the X2 otherwise I would've went 4850 all day.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 08:57 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

I think someone's been in my bios... my vcore was at 1.4 (for my q6600) .... I was wondering why it was so unstable... lol
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 01:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

So the card is at like 4500RPM at 50%, 9000RPM 100% that's some nice stock cooler !
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 01:22 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Unrelated to my 4850, but I got fed up with some stuff with my mobo. So I searched up some vdroop mods and penciled up some stuff on my mobo and now there is only a .014 difference between the real vcore and what is displayed. I also changed my clocks and stuff back to 3.6ghz and I'm going to run that for about 3-5 hours and then push up once again from there.

I'm probably going to look for a multimeter soon at a local store and then pencil mod. My goal is 2 pencil mods in 1 weekend :P.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4850 check... Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 19 08-02-2008 01:30 PM
Is there alot of difference between the 4850 and the 8800gt? Ric0h New Systems | Building and Buying 25 07-23-2008 11:02 PM
Palit or Gigabyte HD 4850 $170 CDN after MIR jfenwick Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 07-09-2008 09:10 PM
Asus Radeon 4850 - $164.99 after MIR Apokalipse Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 07-09-2008 06:16 PM
AMD Ships Radeon 4850 Graphics Card Puddle Jumper New Technology and Products 14 06-01-2008 09:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.