upgrading for gaming

Status
Not open for further replies.

thunderdome

Baseband Member
I am a Mac guy with a new PC that I want to make better for gaming.

Currently the specs are:
i7 3.4 ghz processor
6 gigs DDR3 ram
ATI Radeon Hd 5679 1GB DDR5

I want to upgrade to a better video card, but need a better power supply before I can do that, so I was thinking of putting in this:
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Power Supply
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Power Supply (OCZ600MXSP) | Canada Computers

so I can run this video card:
Sapphire 100282XTREME Radeon HD 5850 Xtreme Edition Video Card - 1GB, GDDR5
Buy the Sapphire Radeon HD 5850 Xtreme 1GB DDR5 Vidoe Card at TigerDirect.ca

I like the price of both and don't want to go any higher. I am a bit of a noob when it comes to hardware upgrades in a computer, so my questions may seem silly, but here it goes. Is the power supply above ok for this card? Is it an easy install?

Will I notice a huge bump in performance with the video card, coming from what I have already?

Cames I want to play are crysis, wow and second life

thanks

You will notice a huge bump in performance going from a 5679 to a 5850. The 5850 still performs very well compared to the newer 6850. The 5850 even beats the 6850 on many benchmarks. I also like the choice of power supply.

You will notice a huge bump in performance going from a 5679 to a 5850. The 5850 still performs very well compared to the newer 6850. The 5850 even beats the 6850 on many benchmarks. I also like the choice of power supply.

Thanks for the reply. Is the power supply something easy to change out myself? Not sure how complicated those things are, never swapped one out before. Only really things I have changed in a computer before is the hard drive and ram.

Regarding the video card, how do I know if my computer supports PCI-E 2.0? Is that a standard for new computers? I dont want to get the card if it doesnt work in my new computer.