Updating my computer for Gaming

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ishmayl

Beta member
Hello all,
I am a studio engineer, and have used my current DAW setup for about 3 years now. I finally bought a new Core Duo DAW that is absolutely amazing.

Recently, I've been getting into some online gaming with some friends of mine. I don't want to use my DAW for gaming, because it needs to always stay in tip-top shape; I don't even use it for email, it's simply for recording music. However, I would like to use my older DAW, and upgrade some parts here and there, and be able to use it for a suitable (if not KICK-ARSE) gaming machine. Here are the current specs:

ASUS A7V600X Motherboard
Athlon 1800 processor
300 watt power supply (not sure of brand)
GeForce 4200Ti (AGP)
2 sticks Samsung 512 (total 1GB) RAM
Western Digital 160 GB, 7200 RPM HD
Seagate 80 GB, 7200 RPM HD
Win XP Pro

The games I play are Couter Strike Source, Team Fortress 2, and when it comes out, Starcraft 2. Every now and then, we all try some higher-specced, newer games (Call of Duty 4), but I'm not sure I really need to play that (unless something you guys can recommend me will be able to handle it).

So, my goal is to upgrade (NOT build from scratch) my old DAW into something that can handle (well), without overheating, some pretty good games. Any recommendations?

Thanks,
Ish