Wifi connection from a router via ethernet cable

nisidotatos

Beta member
Hello,
I am a student in a university in Germany. I get internet connection by ethernet from the wall socket and the connection of the uni.
I would like to use a router in my room to get wifi signal, because I have multiple devices and because the place of the socket plug is not in a very convenient place.
First of all I would like to tell you that the internet from the cable is working ok.

I bought a router TP link TD-W8968 which I connected to the wall socket via an Ethernet cable and then to my 1st pc with another Ethernet cable. This configuration works just fine.

However the wifi signal from the router fails to connect to the internet.

I have some minimal knowledge regarding how to connect a router to the pc so I would like you please to guide me.
My Ethernet controller is configured to obtain ip automatically.
My wifi controller is also currently set to obtain ip automatically.

I think that the problem is the configuration of the router.
When I go inside the configuration of the router by typing 192.168.1.1 in the browser and try to perform the quick setup I need to put in some values.

Could you please tell me which:
- VPI, VCI values I should put (currently they are set at 8, 35 respectively)

What should I select in the WAN type options?
I have available
PPPoE (which needs password)
Bridge
Dynamic IP
Static IP (which needs the static IP and other info)
PPPoA
IPoA

I think that (because i always get this ip) that the uni is using a static ip. Would i have to choose then the static ip and put the info?
Could you please help me?
Looking forward to hearing from you
Kind regards

Check with your University's IT department to see if you can even HAVE a router in your room.