Which CPU?

EricM

Daemon Poster
I am new to all of this and I have a few quesions regarding CPUs. I will be using the computer possibly for everyday use, minimal gaming, music editing and multitasking. So this has narrowed it down to a dual core CPU. My question is Intel Pentium D or AMD Athlon 64 X2. Right now I am leaning towards the X2, but I am very confused. I also have a few questions about the Intel Pentium EEs and the AMD Athlod FX. How do these differ from the normal CPUs like P4 and Athlon 64? Are they just faster and more memory? And for RAM... what is the difference between DDR DDR2 AND DDR Dual Channel? Which is the best? And what mother board should I go with if I go with AMD?

EricM said:
I am new to all of this and I have a few quesions regarding CPUs. I will be using the computer possibly for everyday use, minimal gaming, music editing and multitasking. So this has narrowed it down to a dual core CPU. My question is Intel Pentium D or AMD Athlon 64 X2. Right now I am leaning towards the X2, but I am very confused. I also have a few questions about the Intel Pentium EEs and the AMD Athlod FX. How do these differ from the normal CPUs like P4 and Athlon 64? Are they just faster and more memory? And for RAM... what is the difference between DDR DDR2 AND DDR Dual Channel? Which is the best? And what mother board should I go with if I go with AMD?