Trying to build a computer...

xxsomethingxx1

Baseband Member
I have a few questions...

Is thermal compound needed? It's not much money but I've never used it before...

Also, can anyone recommend a decent gaming computer build for relatively cheap? < 1200.

I'm scared I will buy a case and the motherboard will be too big...how can I know what motherboard to buy and if it will fit in the case I buy?

Well, since I'm board, I think I will answer fairly thoroughly.

1. Thermal compound usually comes with the stock heatsinks that come with CPUs. Its usually pre-applied to the heatsink. It is needed for a heatsink to make a contact to the heat source(CPU, GPU, etc.) which fills in the really small gaps in the metal heatsinks. The downfall to using generic thermal compound to others like AC5 or Arctic Cooler MX-2 is that you don't get a very good thermally conductive contact. If your not going to be overclocking your CPU then using the generic stuff on the CPU Heatsink would suit you fine. If you are, then a aftermarket cooler and some aftermarket thermal compound would be needed.

As for a case, there all one the same standard, just pick one of these cases(Full or Mid Tower would be recommended, Full is around 2 feet tall and wide while Mid is about 15" or 16" inches tall). When you go to mount the motherboard, there should be little raisers that screw into the case that raise where the motherboard will be screwed into. I put the motherboard in first, remember the holes there are for mounting, and put the raisers in those spots.
Cases:
http://www.newegg.com/Store/SubCategory.aspx?SubCategory=7&name=Computer-Cases