Total Newb

Hello my name is Trevor and im a newb to the PC building. when i went home on leave my friend let me use his rig to check my email and i was instantly hooked, then he let me play a game on it. i have already purchased a case ( cooler master 690 ) plus a few extra fans with led's for visual pleasure. i know the instruction manual shows and explains how to install everything but the only problem is i have no idea what im looking for when it comes to MOBO's and CPU's and video cards, and further more once i finally get it all together how do i install all the programs? I know most will laugh at this thread but I really want to learn more about computers so i dont end up getting to much of one thing and not enough of something else. All comments to further my knowledge on the subject would be greatly appreciated.

Nah we won't laugh. We are used to people asking for help.:)
After all it is a computer help forum.

Trevdog666 said:
You dont know how dumb you are until you meet someone smarter than you

99% of being smart is knowing what you are bad at.:p

Most of us on the forum can suggest Mobo's and cpu's for you. We just need a few questions answered.

Max budget?
Preference on brands?
You already have led fans, do you want more lights? (light up wires. etc.)