Student Searching...

emoryjane

Beta member
I'm a student looking to purchase a laptop replacement. I'm having a hard time figuring out what exactly would work best for me.

I currently have the Toshiba Satellite L355-S7915 17.0" Notebook and I hate how big, clunky, and slow it is (its been my first and only laptop). Starting out my ideal list looked something like this:

4GB+ memory
150+ GB storage
Longer battery life
Lightweight (less than three pounds)
High screen resolution
Windows 8.1 or Chromebook
$0 - $700

After doing a lot of research, I'm finding having all those things in one pc is almost impossible (at that price range). I basically internet surf, music/movie stream, and basic stuff like that so I really don't need much to run. But the hard part is I'm in college and I need something that can handle homework including Office and having multiple tabs/applications open at once (otherwise this decision would be much easier).

I originally saw the Toshiba Chromebook 2 and thought it'd be perfect (that 1920x1080 screen made me fall in love) but I'm not sure about the limited access to Office (I have crappy internet where I live) and if it would be able to handle the homework aspect (I've read a lot of reviews about its lag)...but when looking around I'm finding that I'm having a hard time being willing to sacrifice portability/lightweight/screen res.

Really I think I'm looking for a larger tablet (with a keyboard...I won't rely on touchscreen alone) for weight, resolution, portability and such...but the other specs are telling me I should get a 5 pound windows 8.1 ASUS with a 500 GB hard drive to handle homework stuff. (just thinking about getting something that large and clunky makes me cringe. )

If I had the money, I'd get the Microsoft Surface Pro 3 in a heartbeat (I love how it has a stylus pen and 10" screen and full-functioning windows 8.1) but I'm in college...enough said.