Severe Home Network Problem - Need some help

TankerHC

Beta member
First let me say thanks for having me. Been a member of computerforum.com for years but this problem seems to be eluding everyone.

A little background. Retired military but also retired Network/Broadband Engineer. Have been in the Computer business for 31 years starting with Unix and Vax machines. Owned two computer businesses, subcontractor for Dell Home Warranty Services, Technical Operations manager then Area Engineer (4 Cities) for Comcast, GM for Copart online Auctions. Numerous certifications. Basically, I put that out there so someone who may be able to help knows I am no novice. I have worked massive outages, down 400 terminal WAN's, etc. But this little home Network of mine is kicking my 4th point of contact. First the problem, then what I have done so far.

Problem: Back in October I upgraded my Network to 802.11AC. The problems didnt start until three weeks ago. On one computer (Desktop) the Network would stay connected but I would lose Net signal. It was intermittent. Then it started happening to the 2nd and finally all 5 computers (2 Desktop high end builds, 3 laptops) as well as both my Blu Ray players, one is a Sony, the other is an LG. The problem over the last three weeks has increased so severely that the signal goes in and out roughly every ten to fifteen seconds.

The first router was an Netgear R6300. (More on that later)

My solutions:

1. While it was up I Pinged several servers, including my own with no issues.

2. I did have to computers on the Network with an IP Conflict. That has been corrected.

3. I disabled the Windows Firewall (I was running 8 on one desktop but now all 5 are running Win 7, 64 bit.

4. I had Kaspersky Pro running on all 5 computers, it also has a firewall, disabled it.

5. Checked signal from Modem, no problems, sent several hits.

6. Disabled the router firewall and the Network Adapter drivers power management.